Oxford LibGuides: Theology and Religion for Continuing Education: Home

Who can use which resources?

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available. (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example the Philosophy and Theology Faculty Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Theology and Religion. For more detailed info about finding books visit the books tab on this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

You can search for individual journal articles in SOLO by searching for the author and/or article title and/or subject keywords.

In addition, you can search for a particular journal or newspaper (e.g. Nature, English Historical Review, The Guardian) by entering the title in SOLO or via the 'Journals A-Z'.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.

Below are a few key journals for Theology.

See the journal tab of this guide for more information.

Religious Studies
An international journal devoted to the problems of the Philosophy of Religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions. More than 25 articles are published each year, and the journal also contains an extensive book review section.
Journal of Biblical Literature
The flagship journal of the field, the Journal of Biblical Literature is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles and critical notes by members of the Society of Biblical Literature. Essential reading for over a century, it is now available online and in print.

Oxford Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Theology below. Take a look at the 'Oxford's online resources' tab of this guide for more information.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Index Religiosus: International Bibliography of Theology, Church History and Religious Studies
Index Religiosus is a reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History.
Alternative names: Elenchus Bibliographicus ; Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique ; RHE

Index Religiosus is a reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc.) and is the result of collaboration between the Catholic University of Louvain and the KU Leuven, which are both recognized internationally for their excellence in the field of Theology and Religious Studies. The new bibliography starts on the basis of two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. From January 2014 onwards, the printed version of the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus will be no longer available. These printed bibliographies will be replaced by the Index Religiosus.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States.
Alternative name: ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS ; ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. Key free web resources are listed below and on the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

Open University
Free courses on topics relating to religion

Internet Sacred Text Archive, The
This is a large, freely-available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship.
Alternative name: Sacred Texts Archive

This is a large, freely-available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Theology and Religion
by Hilla Wait Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 1098 views this year

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies
by Lydia Wright Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 1123 views this year

Bible Studies
by Hilla Wait Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 472 views this year

Key Libraries

Here are some of the key libraries for Theology and Religion, a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website:

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library
The Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library (PTFL) is Oxford University's main lending library for Theology and Religion. It provides for taught courses and research with multiple copies of frequently used titles available.
Less frequently used books are stored offsite and need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.
Kuwait Library (Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies)
Holds materials on a comprehensive range of topics relating to Islam and the Islamic world.
Leopold Muller Memorial Library
A lending library specializing in Hebrew and Jewish studies
Nizami Ganjavi Library
Previously known as the Oriental Studies Library. Its core collections cover the geographical areas of West Asia, North Africa, the Caucasus, Central Asia, South Asia, Tibet and Korea, covering the languages, history, cultures and religions of these regions.

Theology and Religion for Continuing Education: Home

Purpose of this guide