Theology and Religion for Continuing Education: Oxford's online resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.

Index Religiosus is a reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc.) and is the result of collaboration between the Catholic University of Louvain and the KU Leuven, which are both recognized internationally for their excellence in the field of Theology and Religious Studies. The new bibliography starts on the basis of two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. From January 2014 onwards, the printed version of the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus will be no longer available. These printed bibliographies will be replaced by the Index Religiosus.

Index to the Study of Religions is the online version of the Brill journal Science of Religion. However, it is a selective bibliography, rather than a straightforward index. The English language abstracts published in the Index to the Study of Religions are drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages and reflect an array of complementary disciplines. The main objective of the Index to the Study of Religions is to facilitate the work and international collaboration of scholars in the academic study of religions and related fields.

A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Compiled and edited by C.H. Bleaney and others and produced in the Library, School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.

Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.

This is a database containing 21 different versions of the English Bible. In addition to 13 complete Bibles, there are five texts that comprise New Testaments only, two that contain just the Gospels, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New testament.

It includes the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century such as: Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Stanley Hauerwas, Jurgen Moltmann, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Albert Schweitzer, Hans Urs von Balthasar The initial release will include original and translated materials in English; future updates to the collection will include works in the writers' native languages (i.e., French, Spanish, and German). Central topics in Volume I will include Protestantism, Catholicism, Evangelicalism, Lutheranism, liberation theology, systematic theology, dialectical theology, and theocentric theology. Produced by the Alexander Street Press, it is cross-searchable with the Digital Karl Barth Library. Subsequent volumes will cover Judaism; Islam; Buddhism, Hinduism, and Taoism.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.

It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Tariq Ramadan, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud; writings in Arabic by Muhammad Abduh and in French by Abdou Filali-Ansary, and a selection of more contextual monographs. Future releases will introduce more works by significant thinkers and archival content.

Based on the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University, this new internet edition contains the texts and images of all the Dead Sea Scrolls, with a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts and the Non-Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.

The Brill Dictionary of Religion (BDR) is a multi-media reference work with more than 500 entries covering the many and various forms of religious commitment. It not only addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions but also gives equal weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena.

The Brill Dictionary of Religion is a thoroughly revised version of the German Metzler Lexikon Religion: Gegenwart, Alltag, Medien (4 vols., Stuttgart/Weimar: J. B. Metzler 1999-2002), edited by Christoph Auffarth, Jutta Bernard, and Hubert Mohr.

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:

African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.