Classics and Ancient History: Databases

An online searchable database of the bibliographic records of the Année philologique. Covers the entire printed run of this bibliographic resource for Classical Studies, with new entries added immediately after the appearance of the printed volume, and increasing numbers of interim entries available for searching before the print publication.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.

The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.

Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.

The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically. The user interface allows various and differentiated searches. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.

Jacoby Online presents a completely new edition of Jacoby, a byword for one of the fundamental modern sources of classical scholarship in a fully searchable and indexed online format. Beginning in January 2007 and proceeding in twice yearly updates at the rate of about 60 historians per update (approximate equivalent of 1,000 printed pages), each of Jacoby's 856 entries, comprising a total of more than 12,000 pages.

Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ) is a new edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, but with significant additions. Each author has a Greek text (updated from that of Jacoby where relevant); facing English translation; new, critical commentary (for the first time for authors 608-856, on which Jacoby did not write commentaries); a brief encyclopaedia-style entry about his life, works, importance, etc.; and a select bibliography. BNJ will also include several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. (Depending on the topic they deal with, new authors will be given the same number as the preceding one followed by an A or B in order to distinguish them.) Jacoby's numbering system has been retained so that readers may also consult FGrH without having to refer to a concordance.

The New Pauly provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). A special section of the encyclopedia is devoted to the reception of the ancient world until the present day and the history of classical scholarship. The scholarship of the New Pauly reflects both traditional and new areas and approaches presented by internationally recognised leading experts. The articles in the New Pauly cover all aspects of the ancient world: persons, places, institutions, events, artefacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts etc. The subject goes beyond the traditional paradigm by giving special attention to the interaction between Greek and Roman culture and the neighbouring Semitic, Celtic, Germanic etc. cultures. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black and white photographs.

This website also includes the following supplement volumes:

* 1: Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates and Dynasties

* 2: Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts

* 3: Historical Atlas of the Ancient World

* 4: The Reception of Myth and Mythology

* 5: The Reception of Classical Literature

* 6: History of classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary

* 7: Figures of Antiquity and their Reception in Art, Literature and Music

Important note on Fonts: Many of the texts included in Brill Online include special characters, such as accented letters and non Roman writing systems, which can sometimes appear incorrectly in your browser. This can be resolved by ensuring that you have a font installed on your computer that includes all of the special characters. If characters are not appearing correctly please see the information under "Fonts" on the left hand side of the Brill Homepage.

Click the "Enter databases" button when you get there.

The purpose of this Database of Latin Dictionaries is to produce for scholars and students an online database comprising a large number of Latin dictionaries. The database will: continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries:

* dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages

* dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words

* historical Latin dictionaries.

The aim of the database is not only to integrate different types of Latin dictionaries, whether modern, medieval or early-modern, but also to build in links between these different tools.

Please note that we only have a three user licence for the online version so please exit when you have finished!

Dyabola is a database interface providing access to (among other databases) the Archäologische Bibliographie, a near-comprehensive bibliographical store of the monograph and peroidical literature of classical archaeology from 1956 to the present day based on the subject catalogue of the library collections of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut in Rome.

Grammarians of antiquity taught and practiced philology, text criticism and rhetoric, essential skills in the education, career and public life of ancient Greeks and Romans. Brill’s Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity (LGGA) serves as the first point of reference for information on these ancient grammarians for scholars of Greek and Latin antiquity, in particular for research into the history of philology, grammar and ancient scholarship.

The world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.

The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online includes the printed SEG volumes 1-54 at the present time. Future volumes will be added to the online edition. You can search the database for specific words or by volume or lemma, or browse the indices or by geographical area. This is a Brill online database and is cross searchable with the other Brill databases.

The TLGTM Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words.

In addition to its extensive collection of texts, the TLG has compiled the Canon of Greek Authors and Works, a comprehensive database of all known ancient Greek and Byzantine authors, together with bibliographies of existing critical editions of their extant works.

The new digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) replace the former CD-Rom versions of BTL 4 and TLL 5. They offer both an extension of the data, and a fundamentally remodelled user interface, which – for the first time – allows to search both databases (if you have subscribed to the combined product of BTL + TLL online). The user interface is largely self-explanatory. The help function offers support with special queries of the application. Additionally, an extensive introduction to the Thesaurus linguae Latinae is offered in its Praemonenda, to be found at the beginning of its table of contents.

The Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) online comprises the data of BTL 4, supplemented by the texts of all Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana printed by 2008. This means that formerly omitted texts from BT editions of the 19th and 20th centuries are now included, especially those of scholia and grammarians. The extension ranges around 1 million word forms, so that the BTL Online now includes approximately 13 million word forms in total.

The data of Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) Online has been enlarged by the fascicles published in 2007 and 2008 and now comprises the letters A–M, O, P–pomifer, porta–pulsio.