This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in East, Central and South - East European Studies, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful. Use this guide to find out about books, special collections and online resources for East, Central and South - East European Studies, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases and archives.
Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for East, Central and South - East European Studies, including the main reference collection in the Weston Library, Social Science Library and Taylor Institution Library. For more detailed information about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.
You can search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, using Cyrillic - however it's best to start searching using keywords transcribed into the Latin alphabet, using Library of Congress transliteration.
Download the Library of Congress transliterations to the Latin alphabet here.
Many journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO. Below are a few of important databases containing journal related to the region as well as the top journals for East, Central and South - East European studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.
Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, images, data, archives and more. You can find some of the key databases for East, Central and South European studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.
The Bodleian Libraries hold a range of manuscripts and archives in print and online which are relevant to the study of East, Central and South - East Europe. Below are a few key resources but for more detailed information about our archive collections as well as the archives from the region visit the archive page of this guide.
The Bodleian libraries provide access to a wide range of current and historical news sources for East, Central and South - East European Studies. Key printed East, Central and South - East newspapers including, among others, the The Insider , Balkan Insight .
Browse or search SOLO if you are looking for printed newspapers held in the collections.
Oxford also provides access to current online news sources, subscriptions, analytical materials, and historical newspaper archives. You can find some of the key databases for East, Central and South - East European Studies below, but take a look at the news sources page of this guide for more titles.
In addition to resources the Bodleian Libraries purchase, there are a number of alternative free online resources to support the study of East, Central and South - East Europe. These include portals, blogs, podcasts, film, links to associations and additional search tools. Take a look at the free online resources on this page for links to a selection of these.
One of the University's busiest lending and reference libraries supports students and staff in the Social Sciences Division, offering a wide range of workspaces, printing & IT facilities, borrowing services, and research support. This, along with the History Faculty Library, is the key lending library for East, Central and South - East studies -related books.
Houses the main research and reference collections for East, Central and South - East European Studies. There is a selection of books on open shelves in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room with many additional items available on request for delivery from the Bodleian Storage Facility.
Russian and Eurasian Studies Centre Library
The RESC library at St Antony's contains a unique collection of work in East, Central and South - East European studies.
The Taylor Institution Library (commonly known as 'the Taylorian') is the University's centre for the study of Modern European languages and literatures, other than English. Library is also a home for materials related to the history and cultures of different countries, including East, Central and South - East Europe.
You will find material on Slavonic, East, Central and South - East European history at this library.
You will find many historical maps of the East, Central and South East Europe Bodleian Map Room here.
