A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals.
On this page you will find recommended journals and guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals.
A regular publication of academic and research articles.
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.
The published record of a conference.
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.
You can search for journal articles via SOLO, if you use the 'Search Everything' option. You can refine your search results to articles only.
If you're interested in searching for articles on a particular topic, it's best to use a bibliographic database like the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals - see the Bibliographic Databases page of this guide for more information.
Ejournals are digital versions of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.
The tabs at the top of this section list key ejournals, ejournal collections and free online resources relevant to Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Members of Oxford University can use ejournals that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ejournals are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ejournal collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ejournal collections too. Look at the 'ejournal collections' tab above.
Note, some ejournals have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.
Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.
The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ejournals.
Below you will find select ejournals for Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Depending on the journal provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials.
The tabs at the top of this section list Oxford University libraries with print journals of interest to Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies. A lot of journals are available online but some are still in print, especially those published before the introduction of computers and online journals, and they have not all been digitised.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guide:
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards. For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: