Skip to Main Content

Women's Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students studying Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at the University of Oxford, although any students working in this field may find it useful.  

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases. 

Finding books for Women's Studies

The Taylor Institution Library holds a collection of printed books in support of the core reading for the MSt in Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies. Many of these are also available as ebooks.

Books relevant to Women's Studies can also be found across a range of Oxford libraries, including the English Faculty Library, the History Faculty Library at the Radcliffe Camera, the Sackler Library (Archaeology & Classics) and the Philosophy & Theology Faculties Library.

If you need help with SOLO, take a look at the guide below for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

Many journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are examples of relevant journals, but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

If you want to search for and browse all journals the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated e-Journals A-Z platform or SOLO.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some relevant databases for Humanities below, which will include material on Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, but take a look at the journals and bibliographic databases page of this guide for more bibliographic databases.

If you want to search for and browse all databases the University subscribes to, you can do so through our dedicated Databases A-Z platform or SOLO.

Looking for your course reading list or materials?

Key libraries

English & Film Studies Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Helen Scott
Contact:
English Faculty Library, St Cross Building, Manor Road, Oxford OX1 3UQ
01865 (2)71051
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Support for Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies MSt

Helen Scott, the English and Film Studies subject librarian, is the point of contact for students on the Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies MSt who need help with finding or using library resources. Please see contact details above.

Related guides