Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literature: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying English language and literature at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for English Language and Literature, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for English

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for English language and literature, including the library-use collections in the Bodleian Library and lending collections at the English Faculty Library.  Below are just some examples of ebook collections which include material relevant to the study of English language and literature. All individual ebooks included in these collections, and many more, can also be found via the library catalogue SOLO. For more detailed information about our book collections, including where to find relevant print collections, visit the books page of this guide.

Key journals

Many journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be found via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are examples of a few key journals for English language and literature; you can find more information on the journals page of this guide.

Key bibliographic databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, and more. You can find some of the key bibliographic databases for English language and literature below, but take a look at the bibliographic databases page of this guide for information on bibliographic databases, as well as other types of database resources, such as digitised archival and manuscript collections, collections of primary texts, and more.

Looking for your course reading list or materials?

Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Helen Scott
Contact:
English Faculty Library, St Cross Building, Manor Road, Oxford OX1 3UQ
01865 (2)71051
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Key libraries


A number of other libraries may be relevant to your area of study. Visit the link below for a full list or see the books page of this guide.

Related guides