St Hilda's: Archives

Our collections are a rich and unique resource. Key collections include:

• Letters from our founder, Dorothea Beale, relating to the Hall's foundation.
• The papers of first Principal, Esther Burrows, which contain material relating to early women's education at Oxford.
• The MS scores of composer, Elizabeth Maconchy
• Notes, articles and speeches by journalist and St Hilda's alumna, Sue Lloyd-Roberts
• An extensive sound archive collection of student interviews detailing student life from 1910 onwards.

To find out more about the history of St Hilda's college, visit the College History webpage.

View our online catalogue on Epexio. There is also a guide to the catalogues and indexes for research available to visitors. 

Below are some useful sites offering guides and catalogues to start your research:

• Archives Hub- a beginner's guide to using archives.

• Research guides - The National Archives- listed alphabetically.

• St Hilda's 'Researching the archives' leaflet - this has been put together by Olly, the college archivist, to help when planning your dissertation and thesis research or if you wish to find out more about our historic collections.

Some useful sites to assist research in Oxford include:

• Home | Education and Activism: Women at Oxford: 1878-1920-  includes digitised archive material from St Hilda's and articles.

• Oxford University Lib Guides - search for a guide to archives or information about other archives across the University of Oxford.

• Oxford University Archives- holds administrative records of the University itself.

• Bodleian Archives and Manuscripts- archival material held by the Bodleian Library.

• Oxford College Archives | Oxford College Archives - information about college collections.

Visit St Hilda's Archives webpage.

View our online catalogue, Epexio.

If you wish to view material or have any questions please contact our archivist, Olly Mahony at archives@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk.