Skip to Main Content

Politics and International Relations: Journals

Introduction

A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals.

On this page you will find recommended journals and guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals.

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are digital versions of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.

The tabs at the top of this section list key ejournals, ejournal collections and free online resources relevant to the study of politics and international relations.

Access

University of Oxford members can use ejournals that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Not all of the purchased ejournal collections are searchable on SOLO, so it is important to visit the websites of ejournal collections too. Look at the 'ejournal collections' tab above.

Note that some ejournals have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.

Some journals are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is available via the link below.

Help with ejournals

The links below provide further information about ejournals.

The following is a list of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying politics and international relations at Oxford. Not all ejournal collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ejournal collection websites to expand your search.

The platforms that host ejournal collections allow you to browse and search across all ejournals on their site. Unlike search engines, such as Google, these platforms allow you to refine your search effectively. You can be confident that the content is credible as it has been collated by the platform editors. It is clear where articles can be accessed through the Bodleian Libraries' subscriptions.

Access

Bodleian Libraries have purchased these ejournal collections and you are able to access them for free because they are institutional subscriptions. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ejournals if you are not on the University network.

The following is a list of ejournal collections applicable to those studying politics and international relations at Oxford and freely available on the web.

Access

You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access these collections. [They are different to the subscription ejournals for which you need your Single Sign On for access.]

Physical journals

The tabs at the top of this section list libraries with print journals of interest to those studying politics and international relations. Many journals are available online but some are still only available in print, especially those published before the introduction of computers and online journals. They have not all been digitised.

Help with physical (print) journals

For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guide:

Several other libraries hold print journals relevant to politics and international relations:

Tables of Contents and Alerts

Recommend a journal

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Browzine

Browzine iconBrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards.  For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide:

Definitions

Terms you may encounter in your research

Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.

Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.

Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.

Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.

Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.

Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.