Oxford LibGuides: Middle East, North Africa &amp; Turkey : legal resources: Constitutions

Finding the text of constitutions

Oxford Constitutions of the World

Alternative names: OCW ; Constitutions of the countries of the world, Constitutions of dependencies & territories

English translations of the constitutions and constitutional documents of the world’s nations and sub-national jurisdictions.
HeinOnline
Includes World Constitutions Illustrated
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

Oxford users have access to multiple collections through HeinOnline, including:
- Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
- U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
- U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
- Federal Register Library: Comprehensive coverage of the official journal of the U.S. federal government dating from inception (1936).
- Legal Classics: Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833).
- Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
- Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law: Early English manuscripts, yearbooks and more illustrating English and American legal history. Also includes influential digests, abridgments, and modern encyclopedias that formed the foundation of English law.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Constitute: the world’s constitutions to read, search, and compare
Open Access. Comparative Constitutions Project. Constitute allows you to interact with the world’s constitutions in a few different ways. See more

more... less...

Quickly find relevant passages. The Comparative Constitutions Project has tagged passages of each constitution with a topic — e.g., “right to privacy” or “equality regardless of gender” — so you can quickly find relevant excerpts on a particular subject, no matter how they are worded. You can browse the 300+ topics in the expandable drawer on the left of the page, or see suggested topics while typing in the search bar (which also lets you perform free-text queries).
•Filter searches. Want to view results for a specific region or time period? You can limit your search by country or by date using the buttons under the search bar.
•Save for further analysis. To download or print excerpts from multiple constitutions, click the “pin” button next to each expanded passage you want to save. You can then view and downlo

Finding Commentary

Note the variety in the shelf marks/ call numbers! Please ask a member of staff for directions to the various collections in the Law Bod.

General and Jurisp books are on Level 2, the entrance level.

Shelf marks which begin with the name of a MENAT jurisdiction (eg Egypt) are on Level 1, one floor down from the entrance level.

If the shelf mark begins with name of a religious legal system (eg Islamic) please find these on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level.

Constitutionalism, Human Rights, and Islam after the Arab Spring by Rainer Grote; Tilmann J. Röder
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.

ISBN: 0190627646

Publication Date: 2016

Print copy available at General 510 G880.7a if preferred
The Arab Constitutional Tradition by Zaid Al-Ali
Call Number: General 510 A316a

ISBN: 9781108429702

Publication Date: 2021-08-19
The concert of civilizations : the common roots of Western and Islamic constitutionalism by Jeremy Kleidosty.
Call Number: Jurisp 510 K63.85a

ISBN: 1472414829

Publication Date: 2015
Democracy, Human Rights and Law in Islamic Thought by Mohammed Abed al-Jabri
Call Number: Islamic J11.5a

ISBN: 1780766505

Publication Date: 2015

Translated from Arabic published in 2009.

Related Bodleian guides

Constitutions, constitutional & administrative law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Aug 18, 2025 1065 views this year
Politics and International Relations
by Jo Gardner Last Updated Aug 19, 2025 2456 views this year

Websites for Jurisdictions

For those with the language skills, the websites of the publisher of the official gazette, official parliamentary websites or those of government ministries will often provide texts of constitutions and legislation.

The official websites of courts are the first place to look for at least key judgments.

Many countries have "citizens'" portals or websites too.