Oxford LibGuides: Middle East, North Africa &amp; Turkey : legal resources: Byzantine Law

The law of the Roman Empire of the East, Byzantine law

Editions of sources:

The Digest of Justinian, Volumes 1 - 4 by Alan Watson (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9780812220339

Publication Date: 2009

"Commissioned by the Commonwealth Fund in 1978, Alan Watson assembled a team of thirty specialists to produce this magisterial translation, which was first completed and published in 1985 with Theodor Mommsen's Latin text of 1878 on facing pages. This paperback edition presents a corrected English-language text alone, with an introduction by Alan Watson." Volume 1: Books 1- 15; Volume 2 : Books 16-29; Volume 3 : Books 30-40; Volume 4: Books 41-50.
Justinian's Institutes by translated with an introduction by Peter Birks & Grant McLeod ; with the Latin text of Paul Krueger.
Call Number: Law Reserve Collection KE151.BIR 1987

ISBN: 9780715621103

Publication Date: 1987

Click on title link to see if your college library has a copy too. The Bodleian Art, Archaeology and Ancient World and History Faculty libraries do!
Historiae Iuris Graeco-Romani Delineatio : les sources du droit byzantin de 300 à 1453 by N. Wal (Editor); J. H. Lokin (Editor)
Call Number: Roman 675 W151a

ISBN: 9789069800028

Publication Date: 1985
Die Quellen des Byzantinischen Rechts by Spyridon Troianos; Dieter Simon (Translator); Silvia Neye (Translator)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9783110531244

Publication Date: 2017-05-22

Translation of Οι Πηγές του Βυζαντινού Δικαίου (rev edn, 2011)

Basilica Online
Remote access requires Oxford SSO.
"Basilica Online is a fully-searchable online edition of the 17 volumes of the Basilica text and its scholia, as edited between 1945 and 1988 by H.J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal. The Basilica is the single-most important source for Byzantine law throughout the period of the Byzantine empire, and is a major source for Byzantine studies more broadly." See

more... less...

Series A. Volumen I. Textus Librorum I-VIII -- Volumen II. Textus Librorum IX-XVI -- Volumen III. Textus Librorum XVII-XXV -- Volumen IV. Textus Librorum XXVI-XXXIV -- Volumen V. Textus Librorum XXXV-XLII -- Volumen VI. Textus Librorum XLIII-LII -- Volumen VII. Textus Librorum LIII-LIX -- Volumen VIII. Textus Librorum LX -- Series B. Volumen I. Scholia in Libros I-XI -- Volumen II. Scholia in Libros XII-XIV -- Volumen III. Scholia in Libros XV-XX -- Volumen IV. Scholia in Libros XXI-XXIII Volumen V. Scholia in Libros XXIV-XXX Volumen VI. Scholia in Libros XXXVIII-XLII -- Volumen VII. Scholia in Libros XLII (2)-XLVIII -- Volumen VIII. Scholia in Libros LVIII-LX 1-16 -- Volumen IX. Scholia in Librum LX 17-69 -- Praefationes. Collected prefaces from all volumes.

Some starting points for commentary

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History

Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.

The Oxford Handbook of Byzantine Studies by Elizabeth Jeffreys (Editor); John Haldon (As told to); Robin Cormack (As told to)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9780199252466

Publication Date: 2009

Includes: Ch3.14 Justice Legal Literature by Bernard Stolte
Byzantine Legal Culture and the Roman Legal Tradition, 867-1056 by Zachary Chitwood
Call Number: https://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/permalink/f/o3iafp/oxfaleph020819071

ISBN: 9781107182561

Publication Date: 2017

Useful websites available to all with access to the internet

Latin Library: Ius Romanum
Free resource. Full text of Leges Rei Publicae
Gaius Theodosian Code Justinian There are no translations at this site.
Codex iustinianus ed. Krueger (1877)
Free resource. Facsimile made available by openlibrary.org
Codex Justinianus in Roman Law Library
Free resource.
Annotated Justinian Code
Free resource. By Fred H. Blume, (ed T Kearley) University of Wyoming.
Roman Legal Tradition and the Compilation of Justinian
Free resource. From the Robbins Collection at the Boalt School of Law, UC-Berkeley.
The Creation and Transmission of Justinian’s Novels
Free resource.pdf of article by Timothy G. Kearley (2010). Published as LAW LIBRARY JOURNAL Vol. 102:3 [2010-22]
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Free resource. Roman legal texts in translation.

Related Bodleian guides

Roman law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Oct 21, 2025 3218 views this year
Legal history: western Europe & Scandinavia
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Dec 9, 2025 1405 views this year
Classics and Ancient History
by Charlotte Goodall Last Updated Nov 28, 2025 1629 views this year

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.