Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
Broad subject searches to get your research started include;
International criminal law
International crimes
International criminal courts
International Criminal Court
Criminal procedure (International law)
Criminal liability (International law)
Crimes against humanity
War crimes
War crime trials
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
In the Law Reserve collection, public international law books have shelf marks beginning KC - as in the example below.
An Introduction to International Criminal Law and Procedure by The majority of works in the Law Bod for this topic will have shelf marks beginning Internat. They are shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library readers have both stairs and a lift at their disposal.
Below are some general overviews. For futher guidance on particular courts and aspects of international criminal law please see the links in the box to the right which will take you to other pages in this guide.
International Criminal Law by 
Treatise on International Criminal Law Volume I: Foundations and General Part by 
Treatise on International Criminal Law: The Crimes and Sentencing by 
International Criminal Tribunals and Domestic Accountability by 
International Criminal Jurisdiction : Whose Law Must We Obey? by 
Principles of Islamic International Criminal Law by 
Forms of responsibility in international criminal law by 
The Law of Command Responsibility by 
Legality Matters : crimes against humanity and the problems and promise of the prohibition on other inhumane acts by 
The Oxford Handbook on Atrocity Crimes by 
'Publication Series of the Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher (TOAEP)
Nuremberg Academy Series (NAS) by Recommended subject searches to use in SOLO include
Criminal procedure (International law)
International criminal courts -- Rules and practice
Archbold international criminal courts : practice, procedure and evidence by 
International Criminal Procedure by 
Contours of International Prosecution : as defined by facts, charges, and jurisdiction by 
Die neue Europäische Staatsanwaltschaft Bedeutung, Herausforderungen und erste Erfahrungen by The Law Bod has its own in-house classification system for the subject arrangement of public international law books on Level 3.
Air law Internat 640
Atomic energy Internat 600
Dependent states and special regimes Internat 535
Economic law Internat 590
European Court of Human Rights: literature Internat 575
General and theory Internat 500
History Internat 510
Human rights Internat 570
International crimes Internat 580
International relations Internat 660
Jurisdiction of states Internat 560
Law of the sea and waterways Internat 630
Nationality Internat 565
Recognition Internat 545
Servitudes Internat 550
Social legislation and organisation Internat 610
Space law Internat 650
State responsibility Internat 555
State succession Internat 540
The state (as a legal entity) Internat 530
Title to territory Internat 520
Transport and communications (except sea, air and space) Internat 620
Treaties (theory etc.) Internat 670
International organisations History and general Internat 680
General and regional political organisations Internat 681
League of Nations: general Internat 685
League of Nations: publications (series) Internat 686
United Nations: general Internat 687
United Nations: publications (series) Internat 688
Peace and disarmament Internat 700
International disputes and arbitration General and theory Internat 710
Individual arbitration tribunals: literature Internat 740
International courts and tribunals: general Internat 720
Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature Internat 730
Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature Internat 725
Termination of war (including specific peace treaties) Internat 760
As SOLO is a union catalogue you may find that other parts of the Bodleian have works which would support your research. Three likely examples are:
Arguments over the definition of a "just war" for example may lead you to the collection of the
Topic or aspect
For particular courts and tribunals
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).