Oxford LibGuides: International Criminal Law: Cases

Finding reports and judgment transcripts

vLex Justis
Includes International Law Reports (ILR) the most authoritative English international law report series

vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.
In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.
To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.
Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.
vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Remote access requires Oxford SSO

Alternative name: oril

Decisions from a number of international courts and tribunals including the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Nuremberg International Military Tribunal, the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, the UN Committee against Torture, the UN Human Rights Committee, European Court of Human Rights and the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights. In addition the "International Law in Domestic Courts" section includes decisions from domestic courts relating to international law from 60 jurisdictions.

The volumes of the series Annotated leading cases of international criminal tribunals are shelved on Level 3 at Internat 580 K65.

Online resources freely available to anyone with access to the internet:

ICC Case Law Database (CLD)
Open access on official website
Decisions of the ICC (WorldLII)
Free access to Law website collects official transcripts and makes available to all.
UN Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT)
Official website. "The Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (“Mechanism” or “MICT”), formally referred to as the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals, is mandated to perform a number of essential functions previously carried out by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (“ICTR”) and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (“ICTY”). In carrying out its multiple functions – as listed below – the Mechanism maintains the legacies of these two pioneering ad hoc international criminal courts and strives to reflect best practices in the field of international criminal justice."
WorldLII: International Courts & Tribunals Collection
Open access
ICD: International Crimes Database
Free resource. "The International Crimes Database (ICD) website, hosted and maintained by the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague and supported by the Dutch Ministry of Security and Justice and the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague, offers a comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international and internationalized courts."
Under Commentary, has Video recordings of past Supranational Criminal Law Lectures & written Briefs.
OHCHR JURIS Database
Open Access
"The JURIS database is a central repository of the jurisprudence of the United Nations Treaty Bodies (Committees)."

more... less...

Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD)
Monitors implementation of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (4 January 1969)
Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR)
Monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (3 January 1976).
Human Rights Committee (CCPR)
Monitors implementation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (23 March 1976) and its optional protocols.
Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW)
Monitors implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (1979) and its optional protocol (3 September 1981).
Committee against Torture (CAT)
Monitors implementation of the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment (26 June 1987).
Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC)
Monitors implementation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (2 September 1990) and its optional protocols.
Committee on Migrant Workers (CMW)
Monitors implementation of the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families (1 July 2003).
Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (SPT)
Established pursuant to the Optional Protocol of the Convention against Torture (OPCAT) (22 June 2006) visits places of detention in order to prevent torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.

For guidance on individual courts

These pages within this guide may be useful:

International Criminal Court (ICC)

and Courts of Special Jurisdiction