Skip to Main Content

Human Rights: Americas

Human Rights Protection in the Americas

The Organisation of American States (OAS) was established in 1948 and currently has 35 members (OAS Charter).  Human rights within the member states falls under its mandate and is usually known as the Inter- American Human Rights System. As well as the OAS charter the other primary legal document is the American Convention on Human Rights. The OAS website has  a document section which has treaties, conventions and resolutions as well as reports. 

The Inter-American Human Rights Commission was created in 1969 and is one of the two bodies that make up the Inter-American Human Rights System.  The website has information about the commission, case law, special reports and Rapporteurship information on special areas. 

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights was established in 1979.  The website contains information about the court as well as decisions and reports (under the jurisprudence tab), opinions and annual reports.

The current editions of books with shelf marks beginning Internat are available on Level 3, one floor above the entrance at which you enter the Law Library. It is accessible by both stairs and a lift. There is reading seating on Level 3, and a PCAS machine for photocopying and scanning. Readers are also welcome to take items they wish to read to another floor of the Law Library if that suits them best. 

Related Bodleian Guides

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).