Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
When you are studying Irish law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.
The current collection of books on Irish law are classified in the shelf mark range KB to KN. The Irish books are shelved as a group in each legal topic, distinguished in the most part by either IRE or I5 as the third line in the shelf mark.
Banking and Security Law in Ireland by 
Gibbons on trade marks law by 
Law and Gender in Modern Ireland: Critique and Reform by Irish law and literature
Law and Literature: the Irish Case by The Commission is an independent body established under the Law Reform Commission Act 1975 (Ireland)
Print copies of the Commission's publications are available on the Ground Floor of the Law Library in the Official Papers Collection. O.IE ser.9/ [number of publication]. All are individually catalogued on SOLO.
Independent bodies charged with explaining referendum proposals to the electorate:
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
Comparative law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KB.
Also on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, is an area of the open shelf collection for books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find the majority of comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Below is an example of book with a chapter on the law in Ireland
Secured Transactions Law Reform by Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
European law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW.
The current collection of books on European Union law is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the level at which you enter the library. The floor is accessible via either stairs or the lift.
The books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. There is is no subject classification within the collection, the books being arranged alphabetically by the first names author/editor/
The EU law duty of consistent interpretation in German, Irish and Dutch courts by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.
As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.
The Enquiry Desk on Level 2 is also the place to come if you are having any difficulties finding the books you need: we will be happy to help!
The Bodleian Law LIbrary shelves its current collection of books on both public international law and private international law (sometimes called conflict of laws) on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library. It is accessible by both stairs and the lift.
The public international law collection books have shelf marks beginning Internat, the private international books have Private Int.
International Human Rights : perspectives from Ireland by 
International Surrogacy Arrangements : legal regulation at the international level by If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.