Oxford LibGuides: Ireland: legal resources: Journals

Irish law journals

Westlaw Edge UK
Has full-text Irish Jurist from 2000 on. Dublin University Law Review
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
HeinOnline
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Search our law reports and journals (Law Bod)
Database maintained by the Bodleian Law Library. Put in the title of the law report or law journal which contains the report or article you wish to read, then click search. The results will show which (if any) database will provide full text access and also the shelf mark to the print holdings of the publication in the Bodleian Law Library. Not everything is available online!

Irish law journals in print

The principal collection of Irish law journals in LawBod have shelf marks beginning Ireland 300 and are located on Level 2, the floor on which you enter the library. They are arranged alphabetically by journal title. New issues for journals are on our new journals display which is on the left as you come into the library. If you are looking for a new issue that does not appear here or on the shelf then ask staff and we will be able to check if this issue has arrived and where it is in the system.

If you have any problems locating an article please ask the Bodleian Library staff to assist.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Includes Legal Scholarship and Legal Research Networks
Archive of social science papers including legal papers.
Viewing papers on the SSRN website does not require registration. You can register an account on SSRN using an .ox.ac.uk email address to subscribe to eJournals for email alerts in the following networks:
- Economics Research Network
- Financial Economics Network
- Legal Scholarship Network
- Management Research Network

Law Journal Indexes

Below is a list of indexes to journal articles which may be useful for literature searches. The majority of these are abstract only and require an Oxford SSO.

List of Periodicals 1997-2013
This page contains an index of Irish Legal Periodicals from 1997 to date. Links are provided to articles available online with the consent of the copyright holder. We provide a list of keywords describing each article.
Legal Journals Index (LJI)
Requires Oxford SSO & personal registration. Westlaw Edge UK indexes more UK law journal issues than it holds in full text. (1986 onwards) If Westlaw only has the abstract make a note of the citation details. If needed, use Cardiff Index to find the full title of the journal, then search SOLO by the full title of the journal. In other words, search SOLO for LLoyd's Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly (not LMCLQ)

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Alternative name: IFLP

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (produced by The American Association of Law Libraries) provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law from 1985 onwards. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Therefore whilst publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included.

The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Alternative names: Web of Science ; SSCI. SSCI is the machine readable version of the printed Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1,400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences. Selected items from over 3,100 physical and natural sciences journals are also included to provide multidisciplinary coverage. This amounts to approximately 130,000 articles per year.
The data, which is updated weekly, consists of articles for the current year, with other year's data going back to 1970. The data for each index defaults to the current year plus the three previous years (this can be reset), with searches covering one index at a time. Many of the more recent articles contain abstracts, as well as author, title and journal information with lists of citations.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource which includes full text articles that are freely available on the web, citations, abstracts and also books. There is no list of what resources Google Scholar indexes but the coverage has improved massively over the past 5 years. You can do a basic search over the full text or search by author, title, publication and date.
LawCite search
more...less...
LawCite is being built as part of a three year project that is funded by the Australian Research Council in co-operation with a number of Australian courts and other commercial and non-commercial organisations. It is being developed at AustLII in collaboration with other members of the Free Access to Law Movement - in particular BAILII , HKLII , PacLII , SAFLII , NZLII and CYLAW. Particularly strong for common law countries, but the civil law dimension is growing

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.

Recommend a journal

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase