Finding commentary using subject searches on SOLO
Some suggestions are:
Administrative law
Judicial review
Judicial review of administrative acts
Administrative procedure
Administrative remedies
Government liability
Governmental investigations
Ombudspersons
Note: to limit to a jurisdiction add the name of that country. In the case of England you will need to use Great Britain too. For European Union law use both European Union, then European Union countries
Needing help using SOLO, our online catalogue?
The libguide below is designed to help - and always feel able to ask a librarian next time you are in a Bodleian Library!
When you are studying English administrative law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Please ask for these at the Law Enquiry Desk on Level 2, the entrance level. You will need to show your University or Bodleian Reader Card.
NOTE The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course). There is no time limit (except closing time) but we do ask that you return these to the Enquiry Desk as soon as you have finished the reading you wish to do.
The majority of current works dealing with English administrative law are on open shelf. (Superseded, earlier editions are also available in the secondary collection ("sec coll") on the Ground Floor.)
Law and Administration by 
Administrative Law by 
Constitutional and Administrative Law by Increasingly, new books are being purchased as ebooks only. These normally require an Oxford SSO for remote access (if you are not on the University network, Bodleian Libraries Wifi, nor using a VPN on your laptop). If you sign into SOLO with your Oxford SSO before launching any searches this should cut down the number of times you are asked for it.
Online resources available to all with access to the internet
De Smith's judicial review. by 
Executive Decision-Making and the Courts by Looking for a Reading List title?
SOLO may indicate it is in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these titles at the Law Enquiry Desk - on Level 2, the same level at which you enter the Law Library. Please bring your Oxford University Card or Bodleian Reader Card with you.
Shelf browsing on Level 2
KM1 Public law (includes chapters on constitutional, administrative, criminal, and tax law)
KM31 Constitutional & administrative law
KM300 administrative law - general principles, comprehensive treatments
KM303 Administrative tribunals
KM303.5 Public Inquiries
KM304 Administrative procedure
KM305 Remedies
KM306 Judicial review
Note: judicial review in particular areas of law will be shelved with that topic eg Criminal judicial review : a practioner's guide to judicial review in the criminal justice system and related areas would be at KM570.
KM307 Ombudmen -general works
The works on English & Welsh/UK law are shelved first. Then works on the treatment of the law by the other jurisdictions follow, country by country. In these cases, the third line of the shelf mark indicates which "foreign" jurisdiction the work is concerned with - using the following codes:
A8 or AUS Australia
C1 or CAN Canada
G8 or GUE Guernsey
I5 or IRL Ireland
I7 or IOM Isle of Man
J2 or JER Jersey
N4 or NZL New Zealand
N8 or NIR Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT Scotland
U4 or USA United States
W1 or WLS Wales
Works on the administrative law in other jurisdictions will be shelved in the respective country collections: European countries are on Level 3, remaining jurisdictions on Level 1.
Courts and Tribunals are dealt with by a volume in Halsbury's Laws of England. This is shelved in KZ on Level 2 of the Law Library and is available online via Lexis+ UK to holders of an Oxford SSO.
Tribunal practice and procedure : Tribunals Under the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act 2007 by 
Administrative Justice and Asylum Appeals : a study of tribunal adjudication by For subject searches in SOLO,
Governmental investigations -- Great Britain
The Discursive Construction of Blame : The Language of Public Inquiries by If a book in this category is on a Reading List and it is in the Law Reserve Collection, the shelf mark will probably begin KA
Theoretical works in the open shelf collection predominately have shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for Jurisprudence or legal philosophy). These books are shelved, alphabetically by author/editor on Level 2, the entrance level to the Library.
The Anatomy of Administrative Law by 
Political Jurisprudence by 
The Oxford Handbook of Administrative Justice by 
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Administrative Law by Some titles available online
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Administrative Law by 
Comparative Administrative Law by 
Understanding Administrative Law in the Common Law World by 
Controlling Administrative Power: an historical comparison by 
The History and Growth of Judicial Review, Volume 1 by 
Codification of Administrative Law : A Comparative Study on the Sources of Administrative Law by Level 2, the entrance level to the law library, is where the Law Bod shelves current collection of comparative law books.
The largest has shelf marks beginning General.
There is a separate run with shelf marks beginning Cw Gen which is solely for books comparing countries currently or formerly part of the Commonwealth. In effect, this means the majority of the common law jurisdictions - but excluding the USA.
Finally, as the collection is being converted to the Moys classification system there will be a growing collection with shelf marks beginning KB.
Please ask a member of staff if you are having any difficulty finding your way around.
Research Handbook on the Ombudsman by 
Ombudsmen and ADR: : a comparative study of informal justice in Europe by Looking for a Reading List title?
Some, such as the first example below, may be in the Law Reserve Collection which is on Level 2 the entrance level to the Library.
Note EU law books in the Law Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW.
EU Administrative Law by The majority of books on European Union law are on Level 3 of the Bodleian Law Library. This is one floor above the entrance level to the library, accessible via either stairs or lift.
Note Books in this collection have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm.
Process and Procedure in EU Administration by 
Boards of Appeal of EU Agencies: Towards Judicialization of Administrative Review? by Comparative studies including EU as one example
These books have shelf marks beginning General and can be found on Level 2 the entrance level to the Law Library.
Comparative Administrative Law : administrative law of the European Union, its member states and the United States by If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.
There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons:
