Oxford LibGuides: China, Hong Kong and Macau: legal resources: Hong Kong

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

China resumed sovereignty of Hong Kong in 1997 with the undertaking that there would be "One Country, Two Systems" until 2047.

Hong Kong Special Administrative Zone therefore remains within the common law tradition, with English as one of its official languages.

In the print collection in the Bodleian Law Library you will see the section of secondary sources has two sequences with slightly different shelfmarks: first Cw Hong K for works predating the transfer; and then shelf marks simply Hong Kong for those published subsequently.

Westlaw Edge UK
Follow link to Westlaw International for access to Contains all Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Ordinances, Subsidiary Legislation and selected constitutional documents currently in force. Legislation that is enacted, but not yet in force is also included. HK case law, HK Law Journal 2001 onwards.
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Lexis+ UK
International content includes case law and Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong. ( HK Law Journal is full text only from 1995, Volume 25 Number 3 to 2000, Volume 30 Number 3)
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included.

Basic Law (Hong Kong)
English language official website. Includes full text, commentary, publicity and searchable database of Basic Law Court Cases
Search digitized records about the Basic Law of Hong Kong
Official website of Legislative Council of HK
Chief Executive Hong Kong SAR
Official website.
Legislative Council of Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong
Official website.
The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Gazette
Searchable from 2000 on.
Hong Kong e-Legislation
Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) is the official database of Hong Kong legislation. It provides free online access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status. Different searching and viewing modes are available to facilitate access to law. The database is maintained by the Department of Justice
Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online
Open Access. The Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online is a full-text image database providing access to past revised editions of Hong Kong Laws. "The database comprises a total of seven consolidations of the laws of Hong Kong: 1890, 1901, 1912, 1923, 1937, 1950, and 1964 (last updated to 1989)."
Database of Legislative Council records (Hong Kong)
Free resource. This search facility allows you to search the Database of Legislative Council records which contains papers, reports and records of the Legislative Council and its committees. Some records are available in full text
Judiciary HK
Official website. Click About us then Introduction for more detail about legal system. About us then Organization Chart for diagram of court structure.
Court of Final Appeal (CFA) (Hong Kong)
Official website. The CFA was established on 1 July 1997, upon the commencement of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance (Cap.484) (HKCFAO). It replaced the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London as the highest appellate court in Hong Kong after 30 June 1997.
Judiciary HK : Judgments database
Free resource. Leading cases from 1947/8, 1966 on from Court of Final Appeal (1997 -); High Court (both appeals and first instance), District Court, Family Court, Lands Tribunal. From August 2008, Chinese judgments of jurisprudential value (+ English translation) since 1995. From 1 January 2009, database of Reasons for for Sentence handed down in both High Court and District Court for archival purposes.
Department of Justice (HK)
Official website.
Law Reform Commission of HK
Official website
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
Free resource. Legislation and case law with links to originating bodies.
University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law Legal Studies Research Paper Series
Part of SSRN

Commentary on HKSAR

China's National Security : endangering Hong Kong's rule of law? by Cora Chan (Editor); Fiona de Londras (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9781509928156
Publication Date: 2020
Financial Centre for Two Empires: Hong Kong's corporate, securities and tax laws in its transition from Britain to China by David C. Donald; Jiangyu Wang (Contribution by); Jefferson P. VanderWolk (Contribution by)
Call Number: Hong Kong 510 D675.5a
ISBN: 1107004802
Publication Date: 2014
A Guide to the HKIAC Arbitration Rules by Michael J. Moser; Chiann Bao
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9780198853169
Publication Date: 2nd edn, 2022
Print copy is at Internat 720 M905a2