Oxford LibGuides: China, Hong Kong and Macau: legal resources: Legislation

PRC Legislation online

pkulaw
Alternative names: Law Info China ; Chinalaw, ChinaLawInfo, ChinaInfoLaw, LawInfoChina.com

Collection of all the basic laws since 1946 and a selection of other leading primary sources (including case law) – the most important of which are translated into English. There is also a library of journals.
Also includes access to the Chinese Cases Database. This is accessed from the link for Cases Database listed under the Database In Chinese section.

The Laws and Regulation Database (国家法律法规数据库) (China)
Official website: full text for the Constitution, national laws, regulations, local law, and judicial interpretation and official gazette versions.
Law-Lib (China)
OA website from the Xihu Bookstore and provides extensive coverage of PCR legal primary sources.

PRC legislation in print in BLL (historic collection)

The following include (unofficial) English translations. For currency OU members should go to online database l

China 20 2000	Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo fa bian : Zhong Ying dui zhao = Laws of the PRC Chinese-English edition /ben shu bian ji zu bian yi. (4v., 2000)
China 35 F111a	Zhongguo min shi fa lš fa gui = Civil laws and regulations of China (2007)
China 40 C539b	Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo he tong fa = Contract law of the PRC (1997)
China 50 L965a	The 1997 Criminal Code of the People's Republic of China with English translation and introduction by Wei Luo (1998)
China 55 C539/1996	Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo xing shi su song fa = Criminal procedure law of the People's Republic of China (2002)

Sources of PRC legislation in translation

pkulaw
Alternative names: Law Info China ; Chinalaw, ChinaLawInfo, ChinaInfoLaw, LawInfoChina.com

Collection of all the basic laws since 1946 and a selection of other leading primary sources (including case law) – the most important of which are translated into English. There is also a library of journals.
Also includes access to the Chinese Cases Database. This is accessed from the link for Cases Database listed under the Database In Chinese section.

Civil Code of the People's Republic of China
Unofficial English translation available as pdf download, on official State Council website.
In effect from Jan 1, 2021.
more...less...
"The first Chinese law to carry the title "code" since the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949, the Civil Code is expected to comprehensively strengthen the protection of people's various rights and improve the Chinese socialist system of laws".
PRC: laws and regulations in English (China)
For reference only English translations available on part of official website of National People's Congress .
MOFCOM: Laws & Regulations
Unofficial translations on the Ministry of Commerce website
China’s Copyright Law Amended: Key Changes
January 4, 2021 Posted byChina BriefingWritten bySofia Baruzzi
more...less...
China Briefing Magazine "business intelligence on legal, tax, and operational issues in China from a practical perspective." Published ten times a year, Parent company parent company Dezan Shira & Associates, a foreign direct investment consultancy
State Council Gazette (China)
Section of official government website. English service seems to act as index only but may be useful to find/ correct citations
Selected PCR Legal Provisions
Part of the resources made available by the US Congressional-Executive Commission on China. Emphasis is on criminal law and rights. Can include translations into English.
Asian LII Laws of the PCR Free resource. Last updated March 2008 "This database contains selected Chinese legislation and related documents that have been translated into English. It includes: laws, regulations, pronouncements, resolutions, notices, measures, rules, decisions, decrees, principles, provisions, announcements, procedures, official replies and circulars (in interim, current and/or planned versions)."
China Media Law Database
Free resource. "This database aims to provide an collection of English-language translations of the most important Chinese media policy laws and regulations, including those related to copyright. For most documents, the original Chinese version is also provided. This database is a work in progress, and new additions are made on a regular bases."