Italian Literature & Language: Medieval & Early Modern

• 15C Book Trade Text and image survey of books printed 1450-1500.
• Biblioteca italiana Digitised full-texts by medieval - modern (20thC)  Italian literature and culture.
• BIVIO (Biblioteca Virtuale Online) Collection of e-text versions of signal works for Italian cultural studies.
• Baldassare Castiglione's Il libro del corteggiano Compiled by Olga Zorzi Publiese. Trancriptions of the early extant manuscripts of Castiglione's best-known work.
• Brepols Miscellanea Online - Essays in Medieval Studies Online access to over 5,000 book chapters and articles on medieval studies published in Brepols publications since 1998. It includes books published in series such as Culture et société médiévales, Europa Sacra, Studies in European Urban History (1100-1800) and more.
• CERL Thesaurus Database covering forms of imprint places, imprint names, personal names and names of insititutions as found in pre-C19th materials. Includes information about provenance, printers and printers' devices.
• Dante Online Includes Vita, Opere, Manoscritti & Bibliografia. English & Italian versions.
• Dante Publications Online Compiled by Otfried Lieberknecht. Gives publications by or about Dante. Includes early commentaries and biographies.
• Dante Society of America Includes links to publications and other research resources on Dante.
• Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) Enables comparative searching across different commentaries.
• Digital Dante (Columbia University) The Divine Comedy, with Commento BarolinianoColumbia University)
• Donne e cultura scritta nel Medioevo Database of women who left their names on manuscripts up to the fifteenth century.
• Early European Books 1-4 Providing access to almost 25,000 rare and often unique books, Early European Books (EEB) is a key resource for those with a strong research interest in the period from 1450 – 1700, delivering a wide variety of primary sources from one of the most fascinating and influential periods in Western history. It provides access to European collections of historic and bibliographic importance.

  Collection 2 contains early printed volumes from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (BNCF)(Florence, Italy), and covers specifically Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula and Sacred Representations (sacre rappresentazioni, popular verse plays depicting Biblical scenes).

• EDIT 16: Censimento nazionale delle edizioni italiane del XVI secolo Online versions of C16th editions published in Italy.
• Gesamtkatalog der Wiegendrucke (Union Catalogue of Incunabula -- GW) The hardcopy edition of this union catalogue is organised alphabetically and began publication in 1925. To date (2019) the GW comprises eleven volumes, detailing all incunabula from ‘Abbey of the Holy Ghost’ to ‘Hord, Jobst’. The database version includes all incunabula editions recorded in the manuscript of the Union Catalogue of Incunabula, and in the hardcopy editions.
• Inculabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC) International database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide.
• International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) International bibliographical resource of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. It continues the Bibliographie  internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance.
• International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Covers publications 1967 - present. Comprises citations + abstracts from articles published in journals, conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften, etc., published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, covering the period 300-1500. Geographical area = Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
• Italian Academies 1530-17800 Database documenting the membership, their debates and publications of the major and minor C16th and C17th academies across the Italian peninsula. Includes scans of publication frontispieces. Areas of particular interest include women and the academies, and the academies of southern Italy. Includes images of title pages, frontespieces, etc.
• Iter Bibliography Massive database indexing publications pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes citations for books, journals and their contents (e.g. articles, reviews, review articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc.).
• Iter Italicum Aid to finding previously uncatalogued (or only partially catalogued) Reniassance Humanistic manuscripts in libraries, archives, etc., worldwide.
• Library of Latin Texts (Oxford Users Only -- see link at the end of this list. World's leading database for Latin works with over 32,000 texts and 63 million Latin words, spanning from Antiquity to the twentieth century. Includes medieval Latin texts (eg, Dante). Series A is the preferred set to use (data is more complete). Use Series B as backup if you can't find what you are looking for in Series A.
• MANUS (Censimento dei manoscritti delle biblioteche italiane) Descriptions and images of manuscripts held in Italian libraries.
• MEI (Material Evidence in Incunabula) Database specifically designed to record and search the material evidence (or copy specific, post-production evidence and provenance information) of 15th-century printed books: ownership, decoration, binding, manuscript annotations, stamps, prices, etc.
• Medici Archive (Florence) Scans & transcriptions of documents in the Medici Grand Ducal Archive. Individuals can be searched according to profession (e.g., actors, architects, artists, collectors, poets, printers, patrons, etc.).
• Mirabile: Archivio digitale della cultura medievale (Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino e dalla Fondazione Ezio Franceschini ONLUS, Firenze) Aggregator resource for online bibliographies and critical journal literature relevant for medieval studies and culture.
• Opera del vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Approaching 2000 vernacular verse and prose texts, the majority of which dated prior to 1375. Include works by Dante, Petrarch and Boccaccio as well as lesser-known texts by poets, merchants and medieval chroniclers.
• Petrarch Exegesis in Renaissance Italy Database (PERI) A free, fully searchable catalogue of print and manuscript copies of commentaries, of lectures, and of other modes of exegesis and forms of assistance for readers found in editions (lives, annotations, short notes, indexes, and related material) and other sources such as glossaries, dialogues, and letters. The database covers material produced in Italy between 1350 and 1650 and is focused upon exegesis of Petrarch’s vernacular works, both the Rerum vulgarium fragmenta and the Triumphi. The census forms part of the  Petrarch Commentary and Exegesis in Renaissance Italy, c. 1350-c.1650 project, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (January 2017-December 2019). Also includes an online digital library encompassing full digitizations of approximately 100 works housed in the John Rylands Library, University of Manchester and fourteen further digital editions from the Special Collections of the Hesburgh Library at the University of Notre Dame.
• Progetto Niccolò Machiavelli (Giuseppe Bonghi) Full-text access to Michiavelli's works as well as early "approfondimenti critici".
• Progetto Pico (della Mirandola) (University of Bologna & Brown University) Full-text access to Pico della Mirandola's Discourso (Bologna, 1496).
• Vernacular Aristotelianism in Renaissance Italy (Warwick University and the Warburg Institute) Searchable catalogue of Aristotelian works written or published in Italian 1400-1650. Covers manuscript and printed sources held by libraries in Italy, other European countries and the US.
• Vocabolario toscano dell'arte del disegno, by Filippo Baldinucci Electronic version of Filippo Baldidnucci’s Vocabolario toscano dell'arte del disegno ...: con la notizia de, nomi e qualità delle gioie, metalli, pietre dure, marmi, pietre tenere, sassi, legnami, colori, strumenti, et ogn, altra materia, che servir possa, tanto alla costruzione di edificj e loro ornato, quanto alla stessa pittura e scultura (Firenze: Santi Franchi, 1691). An art- and architecture-focused precursor to the Vocabolario della Crusca, Baldinucci’s dictionary is an excellent place for research into the history of Italian art and technology terminology, especially terms relating to practices and techniques.

Use Databases A-Z to browse and access online resources and databases in Italian literature and languages as well as all subjects.

SOLO: Oxford's union catalogue for the holdings of university, departmental and college libraries as well as e-resources available to Oxford researchers.

JISC Library Hub Discover: Union catalogue for the holdings of over 100 UK university and specialist libraries.

Servizio Bibliothecario Nazionale (SBN): Union catalogue of Italian libraries.

WorldCat: Union catalogue of major research universities worldwide with an emphasis on US university libraries.

The Warburg Institute (London) is a major centre for the study of the classical tradition as manifested in later centuries (e.g. in Western Europe, Byzantium and early Islamic countries). Its library, photographic collection and archive all have extensive holdings.

Catalogo italiano dei periodici: Union catalogue of Italian libraries periodicals and the articles inside them.
MLA International Bibliography: Produced by the Modern Languages Association. Citations for journals, books, collections of essays, conference proceedings, etc., published worldwide.

L'Indice de libri del mese: a monthly publication of cultural information

Check the following webpages for further information on

Film Studies resources

Managing your references guidance

Modern Languages resources

Off-campus access guidance how to access subscription resources remotely

IT Services provide a range of services, support and classes.