Oxford LibGuides: Greek (Modern): Books

Physical books

The following tabs list Oxford libraries with physical collections of interest to those studying Modern Greek. Collections access and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:

SOLO - Search Oxford Libraries Online guide
Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.
Special Collections at the Bodleian Library guide
Intended for students and researchers using Special Collections, particularly those held in the Weston Library.
Theses
Webpages detailing the Bodleian Libraries collections of Oxford and international theses.

Taylor Institution Library
The Taylor Institution Library is Oxford University's main lending library for Greek. It provides for taught courses and research with multiple copies of frequently used titles available. The collection covers literature in the Greek language from 15th to 21st century, including primary works and literary criticism, as well as studies on the history and structure of Medieval and Modern Greek and its regional varieties. The library also holds a developing collection of Greek films and books on Greek cinema.
Less frequently used books are stored offsite and need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, with holdings numbering several million items. Books and periodicals on Modern Greek history have been traditionally housed in the Bodleian Library. The Bodleian collection also includes descriptions of Greece published by European travellers in the 16th-19th centuries, early printed books and manuscripts of early literary works in Modern Greek. The collection also includes a large number of books on post-1878 history of Cyprus, when it became part of the British Empire.
Less frequently used books are stored offsite and need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

A number of other libraries may be of relevance to those studying Modern Greek and related subjects such as Byzantine Studies.

Nizami Ganjavi Library
Core collections cover the geographical areas of West Asia, North Africa, the Caucasus, Central Asia, South Asia, Tibet and Korea, covering the languages, history, cultures and religions of these regions. Books on the history of the Ottoman Empire in general (including Greece) can be found here.
Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries’ principal research libraries, with collections focusing on the study of Archaeology and the Ancient World, Art and Architectural History. Works on pre-1453 Greek language and literature are held here.
Social Science Library
One of the University of Oxford's busiest lending and reference libraries, supporting staff and students in the Social Sciences Division. Statistical data for Greece can be found here.

Electronic books (ebooks)

Ebooks are digital manifestations of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. Many have enhanced functionality, while some have restrictive access and usage terms.

The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks, while the following tabs list ebook collections and platforms relevant to to those studying Modern Greek.

Ebooks guide
A guide intended for students and staff using or likely to use ebooks in the course of their studies and research.
Electronic Legal Deposit guide
A guide intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries’ electronic Legal Deposit collection.
Online and Remote Access
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
University of Oxford E-resources Blog
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.

The following is a list of ebook collections which may contain material relevant for the study of Modern Greek at Oxford. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.

Databases A-Z
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of eresources, including ejournals and ebooks to support your research and study. Find the best library databases for your research here.

Bloomsbury Collections
The Bodleian Libraries have access to over 2,000 e-books on the Bloomsbury Collections platform, including research publications in the following series and subject areas: Ancient Commentators on Aristotle; Ancient Philosophy; Applied Linguistics; Biblical Studies; C.H. Beck · Hart · Nomos; Christian Doctrines; Christology; Classical Literature; Classical Studies & Archaeology; Competition Law; Constitutional and Administrative Law; Continental Philosophy; Criminal Law and Justice; Economics; Education Around the World; Family and Social Law; Hart Publishing; History; History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade Landmark Texts; Intellectual Property Law; International Critical Commentary; International Relations; Legal Philosophy; Literary Criticism; Middle East; Pauline Studies; Philosophy; Religious Studies; Second Language Acquisition; Theology; Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies Archive; Zed Books Economics Archive; Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies 2017-2020.
Please note we do not have access to all books on this platform.
Cambridge Companions Online
Alternative name: CCO

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Alternative names: Net Library ; NetLibrary ; EBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Ebsco's ebook collection is a collection of e-books purchased by Oxford librarians. Currently there are over 2,000 purchased books ('Our Collection') as well as over 3000 free e-books.
Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book licence.
New books are being purchased on a regular basis.
Deatils on accessing the ebooks on this platform are at: http://ox.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=19854712.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Oxford Handbooks
Alternative name: Oxford Handbooks Online ; OHO

Each Oxford handbook brings together the world's leading scholars in the field to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Alternative name: OSO. Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 1,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. At least 200 new books will be added each year as part of the annual subscription.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Alternative name: Taylor & Francis Online eBooks Library

A librarian-selected package of eBooks from the publisher Taylor & Francis, with titles in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law. When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Alternative names: Ebook Central ; Ebook Library (EBL) ; ebrary
Oxford Academic: Books (including University Press Scholarship)
Alternative name: University Press Scholarship Online ; UPSO

Oxford Academic includes over 40,000 academic ebooks from Oxford University Press and other university presses, including:
- American University in Cairo Press
- British Academy
- University of California Press
- University of Chicago Press
- Columbia University Press
- Cornell University Press
- Edinburgh University Press
- University Press of Florida
- Fordham University Press
- University of Hawai‘i Press
- Hong Kong University Press
- University of Illinois Press
- University Press of Kentucky
- Liverpool University Press
- Manchester University Press
- University of Minnesota Press
- University Press of Mississippi
- MIT Press
- University of North Carolina Press
- NYU Press
- Policy Press
- Princeton University Press
- Stanford University Press
- Yale University Press
Includes medical ebooks previously available through the Oxford Medicine Online platform. To access medicine content, select "Subject" -> "Medicine and Health".
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
What Everyone Needs to Know
Alternative name: WENTK

What Everyone Needs to Know is a series of over 100 books from Oxford University Press that concisely introduce current events, issues, and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion. The books are written by experts in their fields in a straight-forward question-and-answer format.

Λεξικό της Κοινής Νεοελληνικής (Dictionary of Standard Modern Greek)
The Modern Greek Dictionary is a modern and comprehensive definitional, orthographic, and etymological dictionary of Modern Greek. It was published in December 1998 by the Institute for Modern Greek Studies of the Artistotle University of Thessaloniki, and is the product of many years of methodical labor. It is the first dictionary of Modern Greek to set forth lexicographical principles. It includes phonetic transcriptions, a link from each entry to its inflectional model, and an attempt to list as large a number as possible of expressions and phrases of Modern Greek, and its greatest advantage is its etymological approach.
Αντίστροφο Λεξικό (Reverse Index)
The Reverse Index can be used to search for words based on their endings. When a suffix is typed in the search box, the Index returns a list of words in the dictionary that end in that suffix.

A number of eresources, including ebook collections, are freely available online. Some of these are indexed in Databases A-Z and can be identified by the following icon:

A selection of other free ebook collections, not listed on Databases A-Z, are also given below.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
Digital Book Index
Provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Many Books
A library of close to 50,000 free ebooks, with a selection of classic poltical and philosophical texts.
Open Book Publishers
Open Book Publishers is one of the biggest independent open access academic publishers of monographs in the UK.
Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Open Education Network, the Open Textbook Library offers over 800 etextbooks that are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Book recommendations & inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Recommend a purchase
If a book or other resource you need is not held by the libraries, we are happy to try to source or purchase this for you. We accept recommendations from University students and staff.
Inter-library Loans Service Online Form
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The Social Science Library have produced a brief, digestible blog post explaining some of these reasons:

Why can’t the library provide everything electronically?
Not all books are available for libraries to buy as ebooks. Here’s a list of the reasons why.

Greek (Modern): Books

Introduction

Physical books

Electronic books (ebooks)

Book recommendations & inter-library loans

Why are some books not available electronically?