Oxford LibGuides: Greek (Modern): Home

Finding books for Modern Greek

Oxford has a wide range of books for Modern Greek studies, including the main language and literature collection in the Taylor Institution Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Modern Greek.

Journal of Modern Greek Studies
Publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present. Official publication of the Modern Greek Studies Association (USA).
Modern Greek Studies Online
Open-access, peer-reviewed journal for the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences that aims to promote research and scholarship on all aspects of Modern Greek Studies. Journal of the Society for Modern Greek Studies, (UK).
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Modern Greek below. Take a look at the databases page of this guide for more information.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It has more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Librarian

Kostas Skordyles

Subjects: Greek (Modern), Modern Greek, Modern Languages - Greek

Related guides

Modern Languages for Continuing Education
by Angela Carritt Last Updated Feb 22, 2023 65 views this year
Modern Languages
by Frank Egerton Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 40 views this year

Key libraries

Taylor Institution Library
The Taylor Institution Library (commonly known as the Taylorian) is the University's centre for the study of Modern European languages and literatures, other than English.

Greek (Modern): Home

Purpose of this guide