Oxford LibGuides: French Language and Literature: Journals

Physical journals

The following tabs list Oxford libraries with journal runs of interest to those studying French. Access rights and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guides:

SOLO - Search Oxford Libraries Online
Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.

Taylor Institution Library
The Taylor Institution Library (commonly known as the Taylorian) is the University's centre for the study of Modern European languages and literatures, other than English. It holds a large number of physical journals for French studies both onsite and stored offsite. Journals stored offsite need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, with holdings numbering several million items. It offers library use only access to many journals, the majority of which are stored offsite.
Journals stored offsite need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are digital manifestations of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.

The following tabs list ejournal collections and platforms relevant to the study of French. For those wishing to browse ejournals, we recommend visiting e-Journals A-Z, or BrowZine.

Online and Remote Access
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
University of Oxford E-resources Blog
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.

Key ejournals in French studies include:

French Studies
Published on behalf of the Society for French Studies. The journal publishes articles and reviews spanning all areas of the subject, including language and linguistics (historical and contemporary), all periods and aspects of literature in France and the French-speaking world, thought and the history of ideas, cultural studies, film, and critical theory.
French Studies Bulletin
French Studies Bulletin is the sister journal to French Studies and publishes short articles, reports of selected conferences, and information on activities of the Society. There is also a dedicated Postgraduate Bulletin Board.
Yale French Studies
Yale French Studies is the oldest English-language journal in the United States devoted to French and Francophone literature and culture. Each volume is conceived and organized by a guest editor or editors around a particular theme or author. Interdisciplinary approaches are particularly welcome, as are contributions from scholars and writers from around the world. Recent volumes have been devoted to a wide variety of subjects, among them: Crime Fiction; Surrealism; Contemporary Writing for the Stage; and Memory in Postwar French and Francophone Culture.

The following is a sample of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying French at Oxford. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.

Cairn revues (Humanities and Social Science)
The Cairn humanities and social science journal package gives access to over 190 electronic French journals relevant for economics, social and political sciences, history, literature, philosophy and otherwise general interest. Coverage generally starts with 2001 issues and includes current content.
The Cairn humanities and social science journal package gives access to over 190 electronic French journals relevant for economics, social and political sciences, history, literature, philosophy and otherwise general interest. Coverage generally starts with 2001 issues and includes current content.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It has more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Pascal-Francis
Alternative names: Free access to Pascal and Francis ; Francis

The Francis database is the e-version of the former hard copy publication, Bulletin Signaletique. International humanities and social sciences index to publications in western languages, including those on art and archaeology of Asia and the Islamic world. Now amalgamated with the related database, Pascal.
Klapp online
Alternative name: Klapp

Important bibliography for French and Francophone language and literary studies. We already take the print version Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. The online version covers 1991- in searchable database format, with 1956-1990 included as digitized PDFs.

Journal de Trévoux
Comprised of 878 volumes and published monthly from January 1701 to December 1767 the Journal de Trévoux, or Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts, was one of the most influential and controversial 18th century French periodicals. A sort of literary journal reviewing and commenting on a wide variety of contemporaneous publications, the Journal de Trévoux dealt with almost every discipline of knowledge: Grammar, Rhetoric, Sacred and Profane Philology, Religious, Ancient, Modern and Literary History, Moral Theology, Law (French and Ecclesiastic), Philosophy, Political Economics, Physics, Mathematics, Natural History, Astronomy, Fine Arts and to a lesser extent, Poetry and Drama
Bulletin de la société internationale des amis de Montaigne
European drama and performance studies
L'année rabelaisienne
La revue des lettres modernes
Revue Balzac
Romanesques

The following is a sample of free ejournal aggregators applicable to those studying French at Oxford.

BASE
Operated by Bielefel University Library, this is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free.
CORE
Supported by the Open University and JISC, CORE’s mission is to aggregate all OA research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
DOAJ
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar
Used to search for scholarly literature including articles, theses, abstracts and books from a variety of publishers.
JSTOR
JSTOR's collection of OA journals offers broad coverage in the field of humanities as well as other subject areas. You can create an account to access further content.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. Try it out for yourself:
Oxford Research Archive (ORA)
ORA provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses.
Persee
Provides access to a wide range of French-language e-journals in all subject areas

Journal / article recommendations & inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Recommend a purchase
If a book or other resource you need is not held by the libraries, we are happy to try to source or purchase this for you. We accept recommendations from University students and staff.
Inter-library Loans Service Online Form
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.

Browzine

BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards. For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide:

BrowZine
Intended for staff and students of Oxford University wishing to learn more about BrowZine.

French Language and Literature: Journals

Introduction

Physical journals

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Journal / article recommendations & inter-library loans

Browzine