Oxford LibGuides: French Language and Literature: Databases

What are databases and why should I use them?

Bibliographic databases are a powerful tool for finding scholarly literature, like journal articles, in your subject area. They are useful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic. Experts in your subject area select key content to be included in databases, so you can be confident of its quality. Some databases will have full-text access, which means you can read the whole item (like an article or book chapter) on the database. Other databases offer 'indexing' or 'abstracting' services, which means they give an overview of the item, like title, author, year of publication and a summary of the research.

How do I find databases?

Google will only take you so far - in particular it cannot show you areas of the web which are not freely available including the many specialist resources purchased by the library. Subject portals contain links to all sorts of relevant online resources and they have usually been checked to make sure that they are trustworthy (however you should do your own checks). Here are some subject portals for French studies

How to guides
Find information on how to use our key resource discovery tools, library services and more.
Library of Congress Research Guide: France and French collections at the Library of Congress.
Although focused on the Library of Congress, this portal contains a wealth of information about websites relevant to French language and literature
Databases A-Z French
The Bodleian Libraries’ own subject portal for French language and literature
Association of College and Research Libraries: a division of the American Library Association: French Studies
Although focused on American users there is a wealth of information here on a wide range of resources
University of Cambridge: French online resources
Although focused on French studies at Cambridge contains a wealth of information about websites relevant to French language and literature

Databases for French studies

Below you will find a few popular databases used for the study of French. It is recommended that you engage with databases relevant to your subject so that you become familiar with the different features offered. Such features include:

Thesauri.
Bibliographies.
Sophisticated searching, including Boolean operators, filters, wildcards, truncation, fuzzy searches, proximity searches and command line searches.
Citation tools and bibliometrics.

In addition to Oxford's subscription databases, there are a number of free online resources to support the study of French, many of which are listed in Databases A-Z (look for the icon).

International Medieval Bibliography

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide.

All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Klapp Online

Klapp online
Important bibliography for French and Francophone language and literary studies. We already take the print version Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. The online version covers 1991- in searchable database format, with 1956-1990 included as digitized PDFs.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It has more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Take a look at the tutorials provided below to find out how to get the best results when searching the MLA Bibliography.

Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Learn the difference between a keyword search and a subject search in the MLA International Bibliography.
Names as Subjects in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
This tutorial describes the most effective ways to use the MLA International Bibliography to find books, articles, and other publications that are about an author or other individual. It also demonstrates how to find and use the preferred form of a name to maximize results.

You can always consult the Help section within the MLA Bibliography for more search tips.

Browse Databases for French studies

You can browse all databases relevant for French studies on Databases A-Z:

French studies databases

Databases for French Language and Literature

Bibliothèque nationale de France
The biggest libraries in France and one of the biggest in the world. 150 million items founded in 1537 as France's first legal deposit library. If you cannot find what you are looking for on SOLO or on Library Hub Discover this is a good place to search, It would be included in a World Cat search.
CAIRNS revues (Humanities and Social Sciences)
The Cairn humanities and social science journal package gives access to over 190 electronic French journals relevant for economics, social and political sciences, history, literature, philosophy and otherwise general interest. Coverage generally starts with 2001 issues and includes current content.
Frantext - ARTFL version
This is one of two versions of the FRANTEXT database both of which enable precise searching of a large corpus of French literature. This one enables searches to be carried out in English. See below for the French-language ATILF (Analyse et traitement informatique de la langue française) version
French poetry from Middle Ages to 20th Century
Selected works from middle ages to the 20th century
Provençal poetry
The PhiloLogic implementation of the Provençal Database is based on data provided by Professor Akehurst at the University of Minnesota. Spellings are in the orginal representation. Page links get poems numbered from 1 for each author. The database has 415,000 words, 28,500 unique forms, in 38 works.

Archives Biographiques Françaises (WBIS)
Part of De Gruyter’s amalgamated biographical database World Biographical Information System online in which you can cross-search a range of biographical databases from different countries and covering different topic areas including for French studies purposes Archives biographiques françaises.
Alternative name: French Biographical Archive

This bibliographical archive is part of World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS)
WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Included are 8.5 Million digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works.
It is based on the digitization of K.G. Saur's microfiche editions of Biographical Archives. Each Biographical Archive covers a different language and cultural area. For the individual archives the original texts of biographical articles from various reference works were taken and facsimile reproductions made.
NOTE: WBIS allows for an unlimited number of simultaneous users institution-wide.
ARTFL
The ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) is a cornucopia of electronic libraries (electronic library of 19th century French fiction, electronic library of French philosophy), databases (both subscription and public) ie Provençal database and also offers access to dictionaries and the encyclopedia of D'Alembert and Diderot (28 vols), a tagged literary corpus (FRANTEXT) as well as other collections of texts and also offers access to a digitized 18th century French journal Le journal de Trévoux.
ARTFL is an indispensable collection of electronic resources for researchers in French Language and Literature. Oxford has access to all the ARTFL databases including those available only on subscription. This includes access to the main ARTFL version of FRANTEXT comprising 3,558 French texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, as well as several other restricted collections of texts and crucial reference works listed below:
-French Women Writers, over 100 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.
-Provençal Poetry, 38 collections of texts from the 12th and 13th centuries.
-Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), 103 works from the 12th through 15th century.
-The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts. 109 volumes, 1751-1758.
-Pierre Bayle, Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th Edition, 1740).
-Louis Moréri, Le Grand dictionnaire historique, ou le Mélange curieux de l'Histoire sacrée et profane, etc. (1759).
-Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, 1,960 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts.
Bibliothèque de la Renaissance
An electronic library offering a range of critical works on the Renaissance - not only in France but throughout Europe - an encyclopaedic survey of 16th century literature and thought offering monographs penned by experts in the field
Alternative name: Bibliothèque littéraire de la Renaissance

The Bibliothéque de la Renaissance offers a wide range of critical writing on 16th century mainly French authors including Montaigne, Rabelais and d'Aubigné as well as some Italian authors. Some of the works in the collection look at more general themes such as rhetoric, the influence of classical authors, satire.
Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies
Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies gathers together the International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale, and the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance. Important database for French medieval studies
Alternative name: Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies

This resource gathers bibliographic records from three databases (International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance). A key finding tool, researchers can in a single search locate published researching covering European history from 300 to 1700.

For advanced-level research, it is still recommended to use the individual databases as they have specific indices for subject, place and period searches.
comprises the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation (BCM) and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR). These IMB databases include records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide.
Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!
Cambridge Companions Online
An electronic library. Among the titles of monographs available are Companions on Samuel Beckett, the French Enlightenment, the French novel, the Literature of Paris, Rabelais, Rousseau, Sartre, Saussure, Proust, Zola and many others relevant to French studies
Alternative name: CCO

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.
Catcor - Correspondence of Catherine the Great database
Much of Catherine the Great's correspondence was in French most notably with her cultural representative in Paris, Baron von Grimm
Catcor (Correspondence of Catherine the Great database) is a pilot project for a digital database of the letters of Catherine the Great. It currently contains about 1000 letters in full text encoded in TEI XML with searchable metadata records for another 6000+. The letters are a representative sample of different aspects of Catherine's correspondence (literature, statecraft, court life etc) with a wide variety of different correspondents in French, Russian and German. The resource includes notes, calendar and an interactive map plotting Catherine's correspondence network.
Classiques Garnier Numérique (Platform)
This provides the entry point to all the electronic library collections and access to the digitized book series which we have in our subscription. These include Bibliothèque de la Renaissance (see above), Corpus de Littérature Médiévale des origines au 15e siècle, Corpus Montaigne and there are others....
This platform gives you access to a number of important French e-book collections including a collection historical French dictionaries, a collection of french medieval texts (Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle), a collection of critical works on Renaissance texts (Bibliothéque de la Renaissance), a collection of canonical French literary texts (Classique jaunes), a collection of critical studies on Montaigne (Etudes montaignistes), a collection of French 18th century texts (Bibliothèque du XVIIIe siècle) and many others.
CNRTL (Centre national de ressources textuelles et lexicales)
Provides access to a range of monolingual French dictionaries including Le Trésor de la langue française informatisé - a contemporary monolingual dictionary of the French language comparable to the online Oxford English Dictionary
Provides direct access to the electronic versions of two dictionaries of modern French : Le dictionnaire de l’Académie française and Le Trésor de la Langue Française informatisé as well as a range of 17th-19th dictionaries of the French language and the Encyclopédie de Diderot et d’Alembert and several French language corpora. It is also possible to use the ‘lexical gateway’ (portail lexique) to search for synonyms, antonyms, collocations as well as to determine the morphology and etymology of particular French words.
Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle
Corpus of more than 900 works from the early period (9th century to the end of the 15th century). Four main foci: Narrative works of fiction, Chansons de geste, Poetry and Secular theatre.
Alternative names: Corpus de Littérature Médiévale des origines à la fin du XVe siècle ; Corpus de Littérature Médiévale des origines à la fin du 15e siècle

A collection of around 900 works of medieval literature from the early period through to the end of the 15th century covering: fiction, chanson de geste, poetry and theatre (religious and secular). The collection includes editions published by Champion, Droz and the Société des anciens textes français.
Corpus Montaigne
This database contains all the works published in Montaigne’s lifetime and after his death by his «daughter-in-law» Marie de Gournay, all the editions published from the 16th to the 20th century, their annotation and critical apparatus, and also the best editions of the complete works in Italian, English, German and Spanish.
Corpus Montaigne is a database devoted to all things relating to Montaigne. It contains numerous scholarly editions of Montaigne’s works but also less well-known texts such as his correspondence and translations. There are early editions of the Essais from 1580 to 1635. Translations of Montaigne’s works are available in English, Spanish and Italian. They include not only the Essais but also the Journal de voyage. There are also works by other contemporary authors providing a literary context for Montaigne’s own works.
Dictionnaires des XVIe et XVIIe siècles
Database contains the ten most authoritative and influential dictionaries of the French language in the 16th and 17th centuries. The dictionaries are searchable either singly or simultaneously using different fields including grammatical category, definitions, stylistic register.
Alternative name: Dictionnaires des 16e et 17e s.

This is a database of ten historical French dictionaries of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. It allows you to search these dictionaries all at the same time. Lacking a French 'OED', it is the closest thing there is to a historical French dictionary. Likely to be of interest to historians, social scientists as well as to linguists and literary scholars.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Includes about 5600 items in French. French fiction 650 items, French poetry 245 items, French drama 150 items
Alternative names: 18th Century Collections Online; ECCO

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm, available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm. In the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides research opportunities in ways previously unavailable to a wide range of data spanning all disciplines. It is one of the largest sources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm and electronic formats. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated.
Electronic Enlightenment
About 41,000 letters in French of which16,000 are by Voltaire - mostly 18th century letters are included though there may be others from the 'long eighteenth century'.
Alternative name: EE

Electronic Enlightenment has as its foundation major printed editions of correspondence centred on the "long 18th century". From the correspondence itself, the supporting critical apparatus and additional research, the project has developed a set of information categories that creates an intricate network of connections between the documents and enriches Electronic Enlightenment as a digital academic resource. Through such interconnecting and contextualizing categories, Electronic Enlightenment is able to offer the user an unrivalled range and depth of approachs to the documents and people included here.
To date, most of the content of Electronic Enlightenment has been provided by printed editions of correspondences from academic presses worldwide; nevertheless, it is not simply an aggregation of these editions. Rather it is a database of individual letters and correspondents that can be searched or browsed as a complete collection. This is one of the great strengths of Electronic Enlightenment.
The content of Electronic Enlightenment is planned to grow by several thousand letters a year: additional content will include both new print editions and correspondence never previously edited. The network of external links to leading resources, from Chambers' Cyclopaedia to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, will continue to expand. The functionality of Electronic Enlightenment will also be enhanced in line with developments in online database technology.
Encyclopédie, ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers, L'
Part of the ARTFL project. It is possible to search the 17 vols of the Encyclopédie (based on the first edition). Unfortunately, it is not possible to access the plates.

Alternative name: Encyclopedia of Diderot and Alembert

The Project ARTFL has together with the University of Chicago developed a web version of the first edition of l'Encyclopédie, ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers de Diderot et d'Alembert. It aims to provide access to the 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates.
Études et essais sur la Renaissance
Alternative names: Etudes et essais sur la Renaissance ; Studies and Essays on the Renaissance

World geographies. Over 130 volumes published, average of 7 volumes per year.
Studies and Essays presents landmark studies on the European Renaissance and is open to all disciplines of the Humanities (literature, philosophy, history, linguistics). Presenting analytical studies and documents, World Geographies focuses on the arts, techniques and myths which, for the last five centuries, have successively fashioned our representation of the world, providing a spatial model for our conception of history and cultural diversity.
Études montaignistes
Alternative name: Etudes montaignistes ;Studies on Montaigne

A reference collection devoted to the life and work of Montaigne. It covers reception of Montaigne's works from the 16th to the 20th century, conditions of publication, literary, historical and cultural environment.
Frantext
This is the French version of a large French literary corpus which is also searchable using English to conduct the search in the ARTFL version (see above).
A corpus of French texts from the 16th to the 20th century. It includes over 3,500 works, eighty per cent of which are literary.
Gallica
Gallica is a unique multimedia library offering access to scans of French antiquarian books and much else besides including newspapers and images. A good place to find primary texts in various editions as well as early printed works which cannot be found elsewhere
Alternative name: Gallica: la bibliotheque numerique

The digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France giving access to over 90,000 items of printed material (books, periodicals, newspapers etc.) and more than 80,000 images (engravings, maps, etc.) Lists of periodicals, dictionaries, texts are available.
Géographies du monde
Alternative names: Les géographies du monde ; World Geographies

This collection of studies and documents considers geographical literature in a plural dimension and in the light of varietas. Putting aside the travel account in the strict sense, the collection covers arts, techniques and myths which, for the past five centuries, have successively modelled our image of the world, putting into spatial order the way in which history and the diversity of cultures are conceived.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR)
The IBHR is an international bibliographical resource of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. It continues the Bibliographie internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance. It can be searched as part of Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies.
The core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies.
IBHR includes publications on the European interactions with the wider world through exploration, colonisation, slavery and the Christian mission and extends its coverage to the modern period with the inclusion of modern hermeneutics, reception studies and the 21st-century teaching of texts written in the target period. It covers publications written in various languages such as English, French, German, Greek, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Hungarian, Romanian, Dutch and Japanese.
International Medieval Bibliography
This database contains a considerable amount of material relevant to French medieval studies. The period covered is 300-1500AD. Material includes journal articles, conference proceedings, collected essays etc). All subjects relating to the medieval period are included.
Alternative name: IMB

The International Medieval Bibliograpy (IMB) database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. It can be searched as part of Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies.
All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!
JSTOR
If you browse by subject and select European Studies and then select 'French' this will bring up about 2m journal articles and books. There is no subject searching in JSTOR - you can only do free text searches on the articles and abstracts. This sometimes means that you will retrieve vast numbers of results whichh then need to be filtered. Note that you will not find the most recent articles in JSTOR as there is always a 'moving wall' sometimes of five years after which there is no access.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Klapp online
Klapp online is the online version of Otto Klapp’s Bibliographie der Französischen LIteraturwissenschaft (Bibliography of French Literary Studies) and is a very precise and targeted database focussing on French and Francophone literary studies. It does not use keywords like MLA but has a unique classification scheme which it is worth while getting to know. Its coverage of relevant literature is much more in-depth than that of MLA. Ideally MLA and Klapp should be used together.
Alternative name: Klapp

Important bibliography for French and Francophone language and literary studies. We already take the print version Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. The online version covers 1991- in searchable database format, with 1956-1990 included as digitized PDFs.
Library Hub Discover
Library Hub Discover replaced COPAC in July 2019. It includes the library catalogues of 117 university and research libraries in the UK. The new service offers much of the same functionality as COPAC. If you click on More Search Options you will be able to see the full range of searches possible. LHD is useful for discovering whether another UK library holds a particular title which is not to be found in Oxford. If another UK library holds the item you may be able to apply for an interlibrary loan.
Alternative name: Jisc Library Hub Discover
Library Hub Discover is a union catalogue, giving free access to the merged online catalogues of over 100 UK national, academic and specialist libraries. There are over 39 million records in the database. Library Hub Discover replaces the previous union catalogues Copac and SUNCAT.
Literature Online (LION)
Includes material on individual French authors, French literary movements and also material relating to Anglo-Norman texts
Alternative names: LION Criticism ; LION Full Text ; LION Fulltext

The Literature Online service from ProQuest (formerly from Chadwyck-Healey). Includes full texts and criticism.
Mirabile
Mirabile is anan aggregator resource for bibliographies and critical journal literature relevant for medieval studies and culture.It provides online a variety of specialist resources including important resources constituted by the well-known SISMEL‘s databases and important journals published by the Edizioni del Galluzzo.
Alternative name: Medioevo Latino

Mirabile is an aggregator resource for bibliographies and critical journal literature relevant for medieval studies and culture. It provides online access variety of specialist resources including important resources constituted by the well-known SISMEL’s databases and important journals published by the Edizioni del Galluzzo.
1. DB mediolatino: MEL (Medioevo latino); BISLAM (Bibliotheca Scriptorum Latinorum Medii recentiorisque Aevi), the important authority list for names of medieval Latin authors; CALMA (Compendium Auctorum Medii Aevi) - authoritative index of medieval authors and works; Medioevo musicale - bibliographical bulletin on medieval music; Repertorio di Inventari e Cataloghi delle Biblioteche Medievali.
2. DB italiani includes Lirica italiana delle origini; Biblioteca agiografica italiana
3. DB agiografici: Manoscritti agiografici di Trento e Rovereto; Manoscritti agiografici dell'Italia del Sud; Biblioteca agiografica italiana
4. DB francesi: Repertorio dei manoscritti gallo-romanzi copiati in Italia
5. Digitised Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino (SISME) journals (over 1400 articles in pdf):
·Documenti e studi sulla tradizione filosofica medievale: an International Journal on the Philosophical Tradition from Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages. ISSN 1122-5750
·Filologia mediolatina: Studies in Medieval Latin Texts and their Transmission. ISSN 1124-0008
·Hagiographica: Journal of Hagiography and Biography of the Società Internazionale per lo studio del Medioevo Latino. ISSN 1124-1125
·Iconographica: Journal of Medieval and Modern Iconography of the Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino.
·Itineraria: Travel Accounts and Knowledge of the World from Antiquity to the Renaissance. ISSN 1594-1019
·Micrologus: Nature, Sciences and Medieval Societies. ISSN 1123-2560
·Stilistica e metrica italiana. ISSN 1591-6693
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
This database is the first port of call for research in Modern Languages including Slavonic and East European languages. Mainly access to periodical articles is provided. Sometimes there is direct access to the full text. More often than not a bibliographical reference to a particular year and journal volume and issue is provided.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It has more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Monde, Le (most recent 12 months)
For the most recent issues go to 'Consulter le journal'. Each issue is a small image of the front page of Le monde. Once you have clicked on that you can scroll through the pages. We have full access. For issues earlier than the most recent issues you need to go to Accèder aux archives. Scroll down to the bottom of the page where you will come to a black area. In the fourth column on the right you will find Abonnement and underneath you will find Archives du monde. Click on that and you will find the Le monde archives going back to 1944. We only have full access to articles from October 2023 onwards.
Alternative name: Le Monde
Le Monde is one of the newspapers of record for France. The newspaper website is available in French and English versions, which can be selected at the top of the page.
Monde, Le (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1944-2000)
Offers a basic and advanced search. Images of the text can be downloaded
The complete 1944-2000 historical archive of Le Monde – one of the newspapers of record for France – is available in full-page digital image format from Proquest.
Oxford Reference
Alternative names: ORO ; Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.
It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Alternative name: OSO

Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 21,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. Books are added continuously as part of our subscription.
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment Online
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment (formerly SVEC) is renowned as being the foremost series devoted to Enlightenment studies. A partnership between the Voltaire Foundation and Liverpool University Press sees volumes digitised for the first time through Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment ONLINE.

The collection of over 400 volumes includes many contributions by Oxford academics and covers a breadth of cultures and countries including works on Russia, Greece, Spain, and Germany, and explores topics from 17th-century classicism to 18th-century patriotism to the French Revolution.
Pascal-Francis
Alternative names: Free access to Pascal and Francis ; Francis

The Francis database is the e-version of the former hard copy publication, Bulletin Signaletique. International humanities and social sciences index to publications in western languages, including those on art and archaeology of Asia and the Islamic world. Now amalgamated with the related database, Pascal.
Past Masters - Humanities Full Text Works
Beauvoir, Descartes, Lamennais, Maistre, Malebranche, Merleau-ponty, Montaigne, Montesquieu and Weil are the French authors included in this e-library - sometimes in French and English, sometimes only in translation
Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Alternative names: PQDT; PQDTGlobal; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes content from PQDT UK & Ireland (aka Index to Theses) with abstracts going back to 1716.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature brings together primary texts, literary criticism, reference works, and more.

It includes more than 500,000 works of poetry, prose and plays, as well as full-text literary and interdisciplinary journals, book reviews, and dissertations.

Primary texts are mostly works in English, but there is also literature in German and Spanish, including the following collections: Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Goethes Werke, Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker, Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek, Bertolt Brechts Werke, and Latin American Women Writers.

Works in English include poetry, drama and fiction across all periods, including the following specific collections: African American Poetry, African Writers Series, American Drama 1714–1915, Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Canadian Poetry, Caribbean Literature, Early American Fiction 1789-1875, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, the Faber Poetry Library, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Southeast Asian Literature in English, and more.

As well as searchable, the database can be browsed by author, collection, movement.

ProQuest One Literature also includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), indexing journals, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations from 1892 onwards, with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material.

ProQuest One Literature replaces Literature Online (LION) and includes all of LION’s content.

This resource is partly paid for by the Drue Heinz Fund.
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
Scriptores possessoresque codicum medii aevi
Datenbank von Schreibern mittelalterlicher Handschriften.
A collection of over 30,000 named scribes of European medieval manuscripts. Information includes brief biographical details of the scribes as well as references to manuscripts cited in manuscript catalogues and secondary literature.
Société internationale de Recherches Interdisciplinaires sur la Renaissance, S.I.R.I.R
Alternative name: Societe internationale de Recherches Interdisciplinaires sur la Renaissance ; International Society of Interdisciplinary Research on the Renaissance

This bilingual collection, in French and in English, is devoted to Renaissance literature in its European dimension. It focuses on the entire duration of the Renaissance, from the fifteenth century to the beginning of the eighteenth century, a period during which the belated English Renaissance picked up where the Italian Renaissance and the French Renaissance had left off.
SOLO
Alternative name: Search Oxford Libraries Online
SOLO is the official search tool for the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford. It allows searching of around 13 million library items, 3 million Electronic Legal Deposit e-books and journal articles, the theses and articles stored in ORA, and research articles from journals subscribed to by the University. A specialist map search is also available.
Textes Littéraires Français
This collection is dedicated to the critical edition of significant texts from the French literary heritage from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century.
Web of Science
We are primarily interested in Arts and Humanities Citation index when using the database to research French studies
Alternative names: WoK ; WoS ; Web of Knowledge. Provides access to and cross-searching of databases in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, social sciences and humanities. It includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Data Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences.
WorldCat
Alternative name: World Cat

OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.
Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.
WorldCat Discovery
OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.
Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.

Recommend a database

If there is an eresource useful to your work that Oxford does not subscribe to, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase
If a book or other resource you need is not held by the libraries, we are happy to try to source or purchase this for you. We accept recommendations from University students and staff.

University of Oxford E-resources Blog

University of Oxford E-resources Blog
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.