This guide is intended for students and researchers studying forestry at the University of Oxford, although researchers from biology and plant sciences may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for forestry, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.
Many journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for ornithology but you can find more information on the Journals page in this guide.
Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for plant taxonomy below, but take a look at the Databases page in this guide for more information.
The Oxford Forestry collection was formerly held in the Department of Plant Sciences, where it was the library of the Oxford Forestry Institute. In 2010 the collections moved to the Radcliffe Science Library and then finally to the Bodleian Book Storage Facility (BSF) in Summer 2017.
New material for the collection is frequently received from CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International), based in Wallingford. CABI abstracts material in many disciplines, including forestry and these abstracts can be search via the Forest Science Database and CAB Abstracts.
The forestry collection is a mixture of material comprising books, periodicals and grey literature. The total collection is over 200,000 items. Most of the material is donated either by CABI or from forestry organizations from all over the world. Literature is collected in a wide variety of languages and all abstracted material is kept permanently.
Not all titles are catalogued on OLIS, Oxford's online computer catalogue, but with the aid of handlists and online databases material can be located.
A brief overview of the forestry library collections can be found in the history of forestry at Oxford, 1905-2005 - a set of five posters prepared by Roger Mills, Oxford Forest Information Manager 1981-2010, for the conference 'Frontiers in Forest Information : a centenary conference' held at St Anne's College Oxford, in December 2005.
A more detailed history of forestry at the University can be found in the following paper -
Burley, J. et al. (2009) Witness to History: A History of Forestry at Oxford University. British Scholar, v.1(2), pp. 236-61
The RSL is closed for refurbishment from 23 December 2019 until late 2021. Bodleian Science Library services will operate from the Vere Harmsworth Library at the Rothermere American Institute in the interim.
Post: 1a South Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3UB. United Kingdom
Phone: +44 1865 272800