Skip to main content

Plant Taxonomy: Home

The aim is to list useful resources and research tools (both print and online) for plant taxonomists and to encourage you to seek help in finding information - making the best use of libraries and online resources.
Subjects: Plant Taxonomy

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying plant taxonomy at the University of Oxford, although researchers from biology, plant sciences and forestry may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for plant taxonomy, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for plant taxonomy

Oxford has a wide range of print and ebooks, including the collections at the Sherardian Library of Plant Taxonomy and the main science collections in the Radcliffe Science Library.  For more detailed info about our book collections visit our Books page in this guide.

Key journals

Many journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for plant taxonomy but you can find more information on the Journals page in this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for plant taxonomy below, but take a look at the databases page in this guide for more information.

Collections

Principal collection:

The Sherardian Library of Plant Taxonomy is located in the Department of Plant Sciences at the University of Oxford. The library collections cover research in plant taxonomy, systematics, floristics and plant evolution, in addition to special collections and historical material. The Sherardian Library is associated with the Oxford Herbaria.

The library also holds rare and historical materials, including the Sherard Manuscripts and the Flora Graeca.

Associated collections:

Other collections:

Sherardian & Plant Taxonomy Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Sophie Wilcox
Contact:
Sherardian Library,
Dept. of Plant Sciences, South Parks Rd, Oxford OX1 3RB
Working hours: Mon-Wed 9.30am-2.00pm
+44 (0)1865 2-75025 (Sherardian Library) +44(0)1865 2-72800 (RSL Enquiries)

Related guides

Key libraries

Sherardian Library at Dept of Pant Sciences