Oxford LibGuides: Classics for Continuing Education: Home

Who can use which resources?

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available. (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library and the Bodleian Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Classics. For more information about finding books visit the following tabs on this guide: Ancient Greek tab, Latin tab, Ancient History tab, Classical Archaeology tab and Classical Philosophy tab.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Oxford Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Classics below. Take a look at the following tabs of this guide for more information: Ancient Greek tab, Latin tab, Ancient History tab, Classical Archaeology tab and Classical Philosophy tab.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics Online
Alternative name: EAGLL

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
Classical Latin Texts
Full text searching of Classical Latin Texts by keyword or author. This website provides a basic search with limited other facilities, but covers most mainstream Classical Latin authors. For more sophisticated searching please use the Library of Latin Texts.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History, The
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. Key free web resources are listed below and on the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

Library of Ancient Texts Online
Catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
A collaborative, digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Classics and Ancient History
by Charlotte Goodall Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 1182 views this year

Key Libraries

Here are some of the key libraries for Classics; a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website:

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the principal research libraries of the University of Oxford and specialises in Archaeology, Art History, and Classics (Ancient History and Literature). Many of the Classics books are available for borrowing.
Bodleian Lower Reading Room
The Bodleian Library holds a significant research collection for Classics in the Lower Reading Room of the Old Bodleian Library.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library holds UK publications on classical subjects. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks.

Classics for Continuing Education: Home

Purpose of this guide