East, Central, South - East Europe Social Sciences and History (Czechia, Slovakia, Poland, Balkans and the Baltic States): News sources

BBC Monitoring tracks, translates, summarises and analyses local media sources around the world. It is an interdisciplinary resource, and its stated specialisms include: Russia, Eastern Europe, Middle East and North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, Latin America, Asia, Disinformation.

To register or log in, please select Log In and enter your Oxford college or department email address (for example, @balliol.ox.ac.uk or @history.ox.ac.uk; not just @ox.ac.uk).

A separate archive of BBC Monitoring’s Summary of World Broadcasts is published by Readex as BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts: Essential Global Media, 1939-2001.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.

Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.

Eastern European Newspaper Archive, containing scientific and professional journals, weekly and daily newspapers, encyclopaedias, and thematic book collections.

Balkan Insight is the leading news site covering the Western Balkans Region. Correspondents are drawn from across the former Yugoslavia and Albania, Bulgaria and Romania and the site is widely regarded as the only source of balanced reporting providing copy in English to international journalistic standards. Balkan Insight's Premium Content, available to all University of Oxford users, offers more detailed analytical content, including investigations, comment and analysis from the countries of the region.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

• Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
• Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
• South Asia, 1980–1987
• Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
• Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
• Latin America, 1974-1996
• Soviet Union, 1974-1991
• Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
• Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 ('EHA') is a fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist. The database covers 8,000 issues, offering full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers (via the browse by date option). Maps, images and financial tables can be searched separately. Selected financial tables published after May 1983 can be exported using links in the blue box to left of the page image.

The Financial Times Historical Archive provides an online, fully-searchable facsimile run of the London edition of the FT, from its first issue in 1888 to the end of 2016. Each item in this complete collection is categorized by both subject and topic, with every individual article, advertisement and market listing included and searchable for retrieval individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

• Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
• Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
• South Asia, 1980–1987
• Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
• Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
• Latin America, 1974-1996
• Soviet Union, 1974-1991
• Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
• Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Founded in 1821 as the Manchester Guardian, becoming The Guardian in 1959 (and moving to London in 1964), The Guardian is an important British newspaper which gives readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years. Originally the voice of Manchester’s liberal industrial middle classes, in the past fifty years its readership has included an increasing proportion of public sector workers, and the newspaper has a reputation for following a liberal/ social democratic political stance. Ownership of the newspaper passed to a trust in 1936.

Alternative names: NYT ; The New York Times with Index
 

This archive of The New York Times in ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full page and article images with searchable full text, from the first issue up to 2018.

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 contains over 12 million articles as of 2021.