A list of guides providing foundational information on accessing information and using the Bodleian Libraries.
Find information on how to use our key resource discovery tools, library services and more.
The following tabs list Oxford libraries with physical collections of interest to the study of Numismatics. Collections access and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:
Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.
Intended for students and researchers using Special Collections, particularly those held in the Weston Library.
Webpages detailing the Bodleian Libraries collections of Oxford and international theses.
Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
Part of the central Bodleian Library complex: it is linked to the Old Bodleian Library by the underground Gladstone Link.
The Radcliffe Camera is home to the History Faculty Library (HFL).
If we don't have the book you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
If a book or other resource you need is not held by the libraries, we are happy to try to source or purchase this for you. We accept recommendations from University students and staff.
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.
There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic acces to a resource. The Social Science Library have produced a brief, digestible blog post explaining some of these reasons:
Not all books are available for libraries to buy as ebooks. Here’s a list of the reasons why.
Ebooks are digital manifestations of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. Many have enhanced functionality, while some have restrictive access and usage terms.
The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks, while the following tabs list ebook collections and platforms relevant to the study of the ancient world.
A guide intended for students and staff using or likely to use ebooks in the course of their studies and research.
A guide intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries’ electronic Legal Deposit collection.
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.
The following is a sample of ebook collections applicable to those studying Classics at Oxford. However, as a highly interdisciplinary subject, other collections may be of relevance. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of eresources, including ejournals and ebooks to support your research and study. Find the best library databases for your research here.
