The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched for via SOLO, as can the individual articles within e-journals. If you are new to Oxford libraries or to SOLO, we recommend visiting the 'Getting started' and 'How to' guides at the links below.
A list of guides providing foundational information on accessing information and using the Bodleian Libraries.
Find information on how to use our key resource discovery tools, library services and more.
The following tabs list Oxford libraries with journal runs of interest to those studying Numismatics. Access rights and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guides:
Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World is home to the largest open-shelf collection of journals covering Classics, Ancient History, Archaeology and related subjects in Oxford, many of which are available to borrow to Oxford members.
The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, with holdings numbering several million items. It offers library use only access to many philosophy journals, the majority of which are stored offsite.
Journals stored offsite need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.
Part of the central Bodleian Library complex: it is linked to the Old Bodleian Library by the underground Gladstone Link.
The Radcliffe Camera is home to the History Faculty Library (HFL).
If we don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
If a book or other resource you need is not held by the libraries, we are happy to try to source or purchase this for you. We accept recommendations from University students and staff.
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.
AJA Abbreviations
Comprehensive list of standard journal and reference works abbreviations from the American Journal of Archaeology.
A brief list of abbreviations and locations for Classics journals held at the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
Ejournals are digital manifestations of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.
The following tabs list ejournal collections and platforms relevant to the study of philosophy. For those wishing to browse philosophy ejournals, we recommend visiting e-Journals A-Z, or BrowZine.
An index of Oxford University's ejournal subscriptions.
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.
The following is a sample of ejournal collections applicable to those studying Classics at Oxford. However, as a highly interdisciplinary subject, other ejournal collections may be of relevance. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of eresources to support your research and study. Find the best library databases for your research here.
