Oxford LibGuides: Archaeology for Continuing Education Short Course students: Home

Who can use which resources?

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available. (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example, the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library and the Bodleian Old Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Archaeology. For more detailed information about finding books visit the Books tab on this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Oxford Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, books, images, maps and more. Take a look at the 'Oxford's online resources' tab of this guide for more information. A key database for Archaeology is:

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Comprehensive for publications on British and Irish archaeology, covering 55BC to the present. You can search by the dates you are interested in.

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. The key free web resource for Archaeology is listed below and more are available via the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

Archaeology Data Services
A key database of resources on UK Archaeology and the Historic Environment from the Palaeolithic to the present day.
Use ARCHSEARCH to search and browse UK historic environment inventories.
Use LIBRARY to access unpublished fieldwork reports; to search references to archaeological literature (especially older publications); to access a number of journal titles, including older issues of local archaeological society journals.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Archaeology
Guide written by Bodleian Libraries Archaeology Librarian

Key Libraries

Here are some of the key libraries for Archaeology; a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website:

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the principal research libraries of the University of Oxford and specialises in Archaeology, Art History, and Classics (Ancient History and Literature). Many of the Archaeology books are available for borrowing.
Bodleian Old Library
The Bodleian Library holds many UK publications on archaeology. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks. Books on open access are mainly in the Lower Gladstone Link.
Balfour Library
The Balfour Library is housed in the Pitt Rivers Museum. It holds the University’s research collections on the archaeology of sub-Saharan Africa, the Americas and Australasia. They are held together with the collections on the ethnography of these areas. The Balfour Library also holds works on the Palaeolithic period worldwide and on the theory and methods of archaeology.
Radcliffe Science Library
The Radcliffe Science Library holds some archaeological material, mainly but not exclusively more scientific aspects. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks.

Archaeology for Continuing Education Short Course students: Home

Purpose of this guide