This is the "Getting started" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to linguistics collections and e-resources
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2012 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/linguistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Resources

SOLO - searching online catalogue and e-resources. How to search SOLO

COPAC - UK universities online catalogue

WorldCat - catalogues of the main universities around the world

 

About the Linguistics Collections

 

The Taylor Institution Library has a linguistics reading room with full runs of journals on open shelf and a lending collection on general linguistics. The Bodleian's Upper Reading Room houses a reference collection of recent British publications, reference works and journals. However, most titles are kept in the stacks.

The Teaching Collection (formerly Modern Languages Faculty Library) has a good lending collection including reading list books. English linguistics are in the English Faculty Library, classical linguistics in the Sackler Library, Slavonic linguistics in the Slavonic library. The Radcliffe Science Library holds a small collection on child language and language acquisition as well as materials on phonetics. Applied linguistics are in the Educational Studies Library.

The books on open shelf may be browsed, however the best way of finding out about linguistics, is via the catalogue or one of the online resources.

 

Finding books or periodicals

SOLO - searches across the online catalogue OLIS and various (but not all!) e-resources. Use to find books, conference proceedings, journals, etc. that are available in Oxford. SOLO will also give article or working paper titles. For a more comprehensive search for articles use bibliographic databases, see 'Articles & Working Papers'. SOLO will link through to OLIS when 'check library  holdings' for a specific title is selected.

If a book or journal isn't available in Oxford, try finding it elsewhere in the UK through COPAC, the online catalogue for  UK academic libraries. Titles may be requested through InterLibrary Loan. COPAC is more comprehensive for the UK than WorldCat. However, if a title isn't available in the UK, try and locate it elsewhere in the world through WorldCat  and place an InterLibrary Loan request.

 

 

 

 

 

Linguistics Subject Consultant

Johanneke Sytsema

Contact info:

Tel. 01865 (2)78159 (Wednesdays)

Email: johanneke.sytsema@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Subjects: General Linguistics, Applied Linguistics, Phonology, Phonetics, Comparative Philology, Dutch, Frisian

 

Did this guide answer your question?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip