Skip to main content

Ancient Near East: Home

The premier research library for the study of the Ancient Near East in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the Griffith Library which was housed in the Griffith Institute wing of the former Ashmolean Library.
Subjects: Ancient Near East

Induction

Induction to Electronic Resources in Egyptology and Assyriology

Tuesday of first week of Michaelmas Term

11 October 2016, 1430

Social Science Library Training Room

Manor Road OX1 3UQ

Contacts

Diane Bergman
tel: +44 (0)1865 278089
email: diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Guides to PCAS: printing, copying & scanning facilities in the Bodleian Libraries

Everything you need to know about PCAS can be found here: http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/pcas

Other links

Bodleian iSkills Workshops: These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

Research and Resources Guides:  a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our  LibGuides service.

Collection overview, Key resources etc

The premier research library for the study of the Ancient Near East in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the Griffith Library which was housed in the Griffith Institute wing of the former Ashmolean Library. The Bodleian Library is an additional resource especially for rare and manuscript material. The Wolfson College Library houses good resource for the study of the Ancient Near East and is opened to qualified students.


Standard of Ur, British Museum (photo: Philip Binns)

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

The Sackler Library is home to the main research collections in the Ancient Near East as well as Egyptology, Old World Archaeology, Art History, and Numismatics. The collection covers all aspects of the Ancient Near East including all phases of the language, archaeology, history, religion, and civilization up to and excluding the coming of Islam to the region.

The majority of books in the Sackler Library are on open shelves. Many of the books and periodicals in the collection may be borrowed, although major reference works and all Eastern Art Library books are confined to the library.

The Bodleian Library has, by virtue of its copyright library status, accumulated a comprehensive collection of books in the field of British Ancient Near Eastern Studies. There are also numerous works on travel in the Near East, especially before the 20th century.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Associated collections

Wolfson College Library holds the Jeremy Black Collection in Near Eastern Studies.

Important eResources

Both the Bodleian Library and Sackler Library have facilities for readers to access online and CD-ROM databases through OxLIP+ which is also available on any computer on the University network or remotely to members of the university.

A major repository of digitized titles (largely freely accessible) in Ancient Near Eastern Studies as well as Egyptology and Classical studies is Abzu.

A useful resource for Ancient Near East-related websites is Intute: Arts and Humanities.

Oxford University e-Journals, Oxford's electronic journal management system provides access to the periodicals on the Ancient Near East to which the University has online subscriptions.

Ancient and Near Eastern journals open access at revues.org

AMAR: Archive of Mesopotamian Archaeological Site Reports

 Cuneiform Revealed: an introduction to cuneiform script and the Akkadian language

Related Oxford University Sites

Faculty of Oriental Studies

Wolfson College

Ashmolean Museum

Iraq: Navel of the World: This exhibition brings together some highlights of the Ashmolean Museum's collection of ancient and pre-modern Iraqi objects to illustrate some aspects of past lives in the land that has been called the cradle of civilisation.

Pitt Rivers Museum

Wilfred Thesiger Web Gallery: Sir Wilfred Thesiger, the distinguished explorer and travel writer, took some 38,000 photographs in over fifty years of travelling in the Middle East, Asia and Africa. The total collection forms an unparalleled historical document of the regions in which he travelled and the peoples he encountered, and it is now preserved in the Photograph Collections of the Pitt Rivers Museum. The aim of this gallery is to introduce a selection of some 100 of Thesiger's less well-known images.

Subject Guide

Diane Bergman's picture
Diane Bergman
Contact:
Sackler Library
1 St John Street
Oxford OX1 2LG
UK
+44 1865 278 089
Skype Contact