Skip to main content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Journals

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Legal Journals Abbreviations

To find the full title of a legal journal that is referenced as a very brief abbreviation, e.g. All ER, search for the abbreviation in the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.

spd


Companion to two journals the Digest is currently suspended and is not being updated. The content is up to date as of the end of September 2014.

Finding journals

To find printed and electronic journals search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue. Journals are shelved by title in the library's periodical section.

A comprehensive Guide to Forced Migration Periodicals is available as part of the Forced Migration Online platform.

Finding journal articles

Use the OxLIP+ databases to find journal articles on a subject.  Key databases for refugee studies are:

Social science databases provided by ProQuest including:

  • Sociological Abstracts: index and abstracts of journal articles and papers in sociology
  • PAIS International: public policy articles and reports
  • ASSIA: applied social science
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS): includes references to journal articles dating back to 1951 within anthropology, economics, politics and sociology and a range of interdisciplinary subjects. IBSS is especially strong on international material with over 50 per cent of journals indexed published outside the US or UK.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) in ISI Web of Knowledge: behavioural and social sciences going back to 1970.

Google Scholar

Google scholar is also an easy way of finding journal articles. Here are some tips to get the best out of it:
  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it@Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.

Citation searching

For citation searching go to -
♦  Social Science Citation Index, part of Web of Science®, which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.
♦  SCOPUS, a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences.
♦  Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
♦  To find articles and books cited within books try searching > Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

Table of Content and Alerts

ZETOC logo

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

JournalTOCs (Tables of Contents Service), a searchable collection of that contains articles' metadata of TOCs for academic journals.

Users can find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS).

Social Policy Association publications

Journal of Social Policy

Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context, with particular emphasis on the future direction of social policy, presentation of new empirical data.

Social Policy and Society

An international academic journal containing original articles that draw upon contemporary policy-related research and associated developments in the social sciences.

Social Policy Review

 

Provides all those interested in welfare issues with critical analyses of progress and change in areas of major interest during the past year.