Oxford LibGuides: Theology and Religion: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Theology and Religion at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Theology and Religion, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Theology and Religion

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for Theology and Religion, including the main reference collection in the Bodleian Library and lending collections at the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library. For more information about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available physically, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a couple of the top journals for Theology and Religion. For more information about our journal collections, visit the journals page of this guide.

Religious Studies
An international journal devoted to the problems of the Philosophy of Religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions. More than 25 articles are published each year, and the journal also contains an extensive book review section.
The Journal of Theological Studies
Founded in 1899, 'The Journal of Theological Studies' crosses the entire range of theological research, scholarship and interpretation. Ancient and modern texts, inscriptions, and documents that have not before appeared in type are also reproduced.
Journal of Biblical Literature
The flagship journal of the field, the Journal of Biblical Literature is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles and critical notes by members of the Society of Biblical Literature. Essential reading for over a century, it is now available online and in print.
Journal Search
A fully browseable and searchable home for all of the Journals available through the Bodleian Libraries.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ejournals at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Theology and Religion below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Oxford Bibliographies
Alternative names: OBO ; Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:
African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.
Past Masters - Humanities Full Text Works
Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.
World Religion Database (WRD)
The WRD contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country in the world, using census and survey data. It is the major
source for international religious demography, with current and historical data, as well as forecasts of future developments (1900-2050).
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Alternative name: ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS ; ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
Index Theologicus : International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies
Alternative name: IxTheo

Please note, the resource will not link to full-text: it is provided as a bibliographical tool only.

The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought
Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century
Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for databases available at Oxford. You can filter by topic, language and more.

Online resources

There are many alternative sources of information online for the study of Theology and Religion. These include pre-prints, open access repositories, websites and podcasts, among others. A few are highlighted below, but take a look at the free online resources page of this guide for a more comprehensive selection.

STEP Bible
Scripture Tools for Every Person - from Tyndale House, Cambridge, is a bible study library and browser.
Index Theologicus
International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies.
NT @ Oxford
A website for New Testament studies at Oxford that offers information about programmes at the Faculty of Theology and Religion, important events and updates, teaching resources and people (including current doctoral students), as well as links to various online research tools and resources.

Training

The Bodleian Libraries host free workshops and classes to help you effectively search for and access scholarly materials. More information is available on the training page of this guide.

Subject Specialist

Dr Hilla Wait

Telephone: 01865 276927
Email: hilla.wait@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Faculty of Theology and Religion

University of Oxford Faculty of Theology and Religion
more...less...
At the heart of the Faculty of Theology and Religion are those who hold full-time permanent positions and who have a particular responsibility for teaching, research and the delivery of the syllabus, as well as academic leadership.

Reading lists for Theology and Religion

Reading lists on Canvas
Readings lists for Oxford Theology and Religion students are available in Canvas (SSO required).
ORLO Homepage
The homepage for he Oxford Reading Lists Online (ORLO) service (SSO required)

Key libraries

Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library
The Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library (PTFL) is Oxford University's main lending library for Theology and Religion.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library is Oxford University's main reference and research library for Theology and Religion.
Leopold Muller Memorial Library
Holds a number of journals for Jewish and Biblical Studies.
Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries’ principal research libraries, with collections focusing on the study of Archaeology and the Ancient World, Art and Architectural History.

A number of other libraries may be relevant to your area of study. Visit the link below for a full list of Bodleian Libraries or see the books page of this guide.

Find a library
Search for a library by name, browse by location or use the filters to find your preferred workspace.

Theology and Religion: Home