Oxford LibGuides: Theology and Religion: Free online resources

Free online resources

LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks.

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to the study of Theology and Religion.

Future Learn
A diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world.
Harvard University: Courses
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Harvard University. These can be filtered to 'free' courses, and browsed through the Theology filter or searched by theme.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
open.conted
The gateway to Open Educational Resources and other freely available resources created or selected by tutors of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education.
Open Culture
An aggregator of free, downloadable religion courses from the world's leading universities.
Open Learn
Free resources provided by the Open University, including for Religious Studies.
Open Yale Courses
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Yale University, including from the Religious Studies Department.
Princeton Online
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Princeton University. These can browsed.

BBC Heart and Soul
World Service programming exploring the issues and influence of faith today.
BBC In Our Time
Discussion of religious movements and the theories and individuals behind them.
On Script
This podcast series covers conversation relating to current biblical scholarship.
Oxford University Open Podcasts: Theology and Religion
Podcasts from Oxford's Faculty of Theology and Religion. It is the largest in the country and home to many scholars of international distinction.

British Library: Discovering Sacred Texts
Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.
British Library Treasures
From the Lindisfarne Gospels and Magna Carta to Shakespeare’s First Folio, this website gives you a peek into the wonders of the BL's vast collection.
Cardinal Wolsey's Lectionaries
A blog post by Magdalen College, Oxford, featuring digitisation of Cardinal Wolsey's lectionaries.
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library
Based on the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University, this new internet edition contains the texts and images of all the Dead Sea Scrolls, with a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts and the Non-Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.
Digital.Bodleian
The Bodleian Libraries care for over one million manuscripts, archives, rare books, printed ephemera and maps. Discover more about these treasures here.
Digital Scriptorium
Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
DIGIVATLIB
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Early Christian Writings
Early Jewish Writings
This site contains a collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.
Packard Humanities Searchable Greek Inscriptions
The Parker Library on the Web
A digital exhibit designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
A database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era.
STEP
STEP - Scripture Tools for Every Person - from Tyndale House, Cambridge, is a bible study library and browser. It includes original language texts, apparatus for original language texts, ancient and modern versions, translation notes, commentaries, dictionaries etc. The hundreds of datasets are kindly provided by the CrossWire Bible Society.
World Digital Library
A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Bible Gateway
A searchable online bible in over 150 versions.
Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).
Index Theologicus
International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies.
Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae
A multilingual presentation of Buddhist literature.

Center for Philosophy of Religion
The Center for the Philosophy of Religion at the University of Notre Dame promotes new research in Theistic and Christian Philosophy and fosters dialogue between Philosophy and Theology. The link is for their official YouTube channel.
Faculty of Theology and Religion Youtube Channel
The official Youtube channel of Oxford University's Faculty of Theology and Religion.
TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).

The Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition
The Duke Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition is committed to developing and providing access to a range of research resources for students and scholars of the Wesleyan tradition around the globe.
Curious Minds
Compiled by academics and staff of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education in response to COVID-19, these freely available educational resources will help entertain you during challenging times.
Hebrew Union College Jewish Institute of Religion
Ian Ramsey Centre
The Centre conducts research into religious beliefs and theological concepts in relation to the sciences.
NT @ Oxford
A website for New Testament studies at Oxford that offers information about programmes at the Faculty of Theology and Religion, important events and updates, teaching resources and people (including current doctoral students), as well as links to various online research tools and resources.
Religion Online
Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring religious issues. The aim is to develop an extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship.
Religion Resources
Free open access resources for teaching, understanding and learning about religion from the Edward Cadbury Centre.
Society of Biblical Literature: Educational Resources
A list of web resources compiled by the SBL of particular interest to students of biblical texts.
Websites on Religion
The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion.

Theology and Religion: Free online resources

Introduction

Free online resources