Oxford LibGuides: Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature: Home

Finding books for Spanish and Latin American language and literature

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Spanish and Latin American language and literature and printed books, including the main literature and language collections in the Taylor Institution Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Spanish and Latin American studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Bulletin of Hispanic Studies
Since its founding in 1923, Bulletin of Hispanic Studies has become the foremost British academic journal devoted to the languages, literatures and civilizations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America. Recognised across the world as one of the front-ranking journals in the field of Hispanic research, it is supported by an editorial committee specialising in a vast range of Hispanic scholarship.
The journal’s interests are broad-ranging and cover the linguistic areas of Spanish, Portuguese, Galician, Catalan, Basque and Amerindian. While BHS mainly publishes articles in the areas of literature, linguistics, cultural history, film and visual arts, cultural and gender studies, this wide-ranging Spanish studies journal encourages reflection and engagement with all aspects of Hispanic Studies, both modern and traditional.
Bulletin of Spanish Studies
The Bulletin of Spanish Studies is a learned review dedicated to research into the languages, literatures, histories, cultures and civilizations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America. Also known as the Bulletin of Hispanic Studies (1949–2001), the Bulletin of Spanish Studies soon established a world-wide reputation, and is now recognised as one of the front-ranking journals in the field of Hispanic scholarship.
The Bulletin publishes articles and reviews, as well as some full-length studies and reference-works, on almost any and all aspects and topics concerned with Spain, Portugal and Latin America.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and electronic material at Oxford. You can search for journals by title, and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Spanish and Latin American language and literature below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for instructions on finding more titles.

Dialnet
Dialnet is a bibliographic database that indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, theses and monographs published in Spain. Subject coverage is diverse, from science, technology, law and business to art, history, language and literature. Dialnet is hosted by the University of La Rioja and includes over 5,000 journal titles and more than 2 million documents in total.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Alternative name: HLAS Online

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. It has more than 3 million records and is constantly updated by scholars in the field. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
PRISMA with HAPI Full Text
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
Redalyc: Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
Redalyc is a full text open access archive of journals and articles across a wide range of disciplines with an Ibero-American focus. This includes material published in and about Spain, Portugal, South America and the Caribbean. Coverage runs through the sciences, social sciences and humanities, including art, literature, history and language.
Created by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. Originally established in Brazil in 1997, as of 2021 there are 16 countries in the SciELO network and its journal collections: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. SciELO provides a portal that integrates and provides access to all of the SciELO network sites. Users can search across all SciELO collections or limit the search by a single country collection, or browse by subject area, publisher, or journal title.
Sumarios CSIC
Since 1971 the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) has produced bibliographic databases with references to articles published in Spanish research journals. The databases are split into subject themes: Science and Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities, and Biomedicine. Within the Social Sciences and Humanities database you can also narrow even further by topics such as Latin America, Anthropology, Philosophy, History, Art, Law and Language and Literature. A number of records have links to full text articles.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Free Online Resources

You can find links to online dictionaries as well as libraries of digitised texts and information portals on the online resources page of this guide.

Subject Librarian

Joanne Ferrari

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Taylor Institution Library, St. Giles', Oxford OX1 3NA

01865 288033

Subjects: Modern Languages - Iberian and Latin American, Modern Languages - Portuguese/Brazilian/Lusophone, Portuguese, Spanish

Related guides

Resources for medievalists in Hispanic Studies
by Joanne Ferrari Last Updated Aug 12, 2022 179 views this year
Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries
by Isabel Holowaty Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 9179 views this year
Latin American Studies Index
by Joanne Ferrari Last Updated Feb 21, 2022 47 views this year
Modern Languages
by Frank Egerton Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 40 views this year
Modern Languages for Continuing Education
by Angela Carritt Last Updated Feb 22, 2023 67 views this year
Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature
by Joanne Ferrari Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 158 views this year

Key libraries

Taylor Institution Library
The Taylor Institution Library (commonly known as the Taylorian) is the University's centre for the study of Modern European languages and literatures, other than English.

Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature: Home

Purpose of this guide