Oxford LibGuides: Resources for medievalists in Hispanic Studies: Home

Getting started

The aim of this guide is to provide an introduction to essential resources for medievalists working in the field of Hispanic studies. Thanks go to Amaranta Saguar García (DPhil student, LMH) and Jennifer Norris (DPhil student, Lincoln) for selecting the majority of the sources, and for explaining why those particular tools play a key role in their work. Every attempt has been made to categorise these resources, however please be aware that many sites contain combinations of resource types, e.g.. bibliographies, corpora, historical dictionaries, grammatical aids, and digital texts.

This guide is a work in progress, so feedback and suggestions are always welcome. Please email joanne.ferrari@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Bibliographic databases

Use bibliographic databases to search for material such as journal articles, book chapters, essays, and conference proceedings.

International Medieval Bibliography
The IMB database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter Bibliography
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Clarisel
Three fully searchable databases of Iberian interest, containing bibliographical information on chivalric literature, medieval tales and Aragonese literature.

Medieval interest groups in Oxford

Magdalen Iberian Medieval Studies Seminar
MIMSS is a forum for different events and activities connected with advanced research in the field of Iberian medieval studies established in Magdalen College, Oxford.
Medieval Hispanic Text and Manuscript Seminar
The Seminar holds up to five meetings a year on palaeographical and textual aspects of Medieval Spanish, Galician-Portuguese and Catalan texts.
Informal Italian and Iberian Medieval Seminar
Unfortunately the seminar has now ceased due to poor attendance, but information is still available on their website. (I3MS is a multidisciplinary seminar for graduates and undergraduates at the University of Oxford. Our aim is to provide a forum for papers and presentations, discussion, reviews, and the sharing of information on all aspects of the study of medieval Iberia and Italy in an informal and friendly atmosphere.)

Research projects

Pan-Hispanic Ballad project
The aim of this project is to bring together an exhaustive, critical bibliography of Pan-Hispanic Balladry, a large corpus of texts representative of all ballads documented worldwide since the 15th century, cartographic display of the primary and secondary data, and digitized reproductions of original oral performances and their musical notation. The bibliographic and textual databases and audio archive are currently operational.
Cantigas de Santa Maria database
The site currently hosts two linked Oxford research projects: the Cantigas de Santa Maria database and the new Cantigas de Santa Maria critical edition. The database is designed to give access to a vast range of information relevant to the processes of collection, composition and compilation of the Cantigas de Santa Maria. It will provide the critical material for a new edition of the Cantigas de Santa Maria, which will be published both in printed and electronic form.
Early Modern Spain
EMS is dedicated to the literature, culture and history of the Spanish Golden Age. It brings together research carried out in the Department of Spanish and Spanish-American Studies at King’s College London and is designed to allow rapid access to the work of individuals, collaborative projects, publications and other resources including electronic texts.

Resources for medievalists in Hispanic Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide

Getting started

Bibliographic databases

Medieval interest groups in Oxford

Research projects