Philosophy: Databases

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:

African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.

Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Records cite journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Nearly 1,996 indexed journals and 12,036 indexed dissertations are cited, from 43 countries, in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and many other languages. Topics covered include: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

The subscription includes access to 282 active full text journals, including the complete backfile of The Journal of Philosophy.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online academic philosophy, including many full-text articles and books by academic philosophers. PhilPapers' purpose is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research through the internet, gathering and organising philosophical research on the Internet, and providing tools for philosophers to access, organize, and discuss this research. . It monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, allowing browsing of new issues of c.200 philosophy journals, as well as hosting papers from on-line archives and philosophers' home pages. Creating an account enables many useful functions, including access to personal reading lists and bibliographies and participation in the discussion fora. It is sponsored by JISC, ANU and the University of London.

Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, which was designed from its inception (September 1995) as a dynamic reference work. In a dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work is responsive to new research.

Over 1000 professional philosophers are donating their time and labour to collaboratively write, referee, and maintain our reference work.

Oxford University is a member of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy International Association (SEPIA), formed to support the SEP’s drive to sustainable open access. Only individual members of The Friends of the SEP Society have download access to high quality PDF (Portable Document Format) versions of SEP entries.