Oxford LibGuides: Philosophy: Free online resources

Free online resources

LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks, with over 200 titles in the subject of philosophy.

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to the study of philosophy.

Future Learn
A diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world.
Harvard University: Courses
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Harvard University. These can be filtered to 'free' courses, and browsed through the Humanities filter or searched by theme.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
open.conted
The gateway to Open Educational Resources and other freely available resources created or selected by tutors of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education.
Open Culture
An aggregator of free, downloadable philosophy courses from the world's leading universities. They also provide a selection of 120 free philosophy ebooks.
Open Yale Courses
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Yale University, including from the Philosophy Department.
Princeton Online
Massive Open Online Coures (or MOOCs) available from Princeton University. These can browsed.

History of Philosophy Without Any Gaps
The series looks at the ideas, lives and historical context of the major philosophers as well as the lesser-known figures of the tradition.
Oxford University Open Podcasts: Philosophy
A selection of free podcast series covering a range of philosophical topics.
philosophy bites
A rich, eclectic array of podcasts featuring interviews with experts.
Philosophy Talk
A public radio programme and podcast that invites listeners 'to think about things in new ways'. [NOTE: We are currently considering a potential institutional subscription for this resource. If you have any feedback on this, please contact hilla.wait@bodleian.ox.ac.uk ]
Political Philosophy Podcast
The Political Philosophy Podcast is a weekly 45-50 minute interview with a philosopher or public figure that considers questions of ethics, intuition, introspection and political morality.

Early Modern Texts
A selection of early modern and 19th century philosophy classics, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
English Philosophical Texts Online
A free online library of early modern English-language philosophical texts.
Hume Texts Online
Hume Texts Online is a free and open access collection of works by the great Enlightenment thinker, David Hume, together with bibliographies and links to Hume scholarship on the web.
The Isaiah Berlin Virtual Library
The Isaiah Berlin Virtual Library (IBVL) began life in 2000 as the website of The Isaiah Berlin Literary Trust, which looks after all aspects of Berlin’s literary estate. It was superseded in this role in February 2018 by Isaiah Berlin Online (IBO), part of the Isaiah Berlin Legacy Project (IBLP) at Wolfson College, Oxford.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
A database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era.
World Digital Library
A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

1000 Word Philosophy
A constantly-growing collection of original essays on important philosophical topics. These essays are introductions rather than argumentative articles.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Oxfordshire Public Library Service: Reference Online
Reference Online is available 24 hours a day, all year round and contains information on a variety of subjects from encyclopaedias to music, biography, news and art. Users need to register, for free, with the public library service for access.

Center for Philosophy of Religion
The Center for the Philosophy of Religion at the University of Notre Dame promotes new research in theistic and Christian philosophy and fosters dialogue between philosophy and theology. The link is for their official YouTube channel.
Jonny Thomson (@philosophyminis)
Jonny Thomson runs the 'Mini Philosophy' Instagram page (@philosophyminis) which boast over 300k followers and aims to explain philosophical concepts in an accessible and interesting way.
TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). Particularly useful for appreciating philosophy as praxis.
Wi-Phi
Wi-Phi’s mission is to introduce the public to the practice of philosophy through free, entertaining, and accessible videos featuring experts from around the world.

Blog of the APA
Blog fo the American Philosophical Association which aims to share a variety of perspecives of its members.
Curious Minds
Compiled by academics and staff of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education in response to COVID-19, these freely available educational resources will help entertain you during challenging times.
Daily Nous
News for and about philosophy for professionals. This blog is maintained by Justin Weinberg, an associate professor of philosophy at the University of South Carolina.
Philosophy Now
A newsstand magazine for everyone interested in ideas. It contains articles on all aspects of Western philosophy, as well as book reviews, letters, news, Podcasts, cartoons, and the occasional short story. Note that not all articles can be accessed for free.
Project Vox
A website built by a team at Duke University to support the incorporation of non-canonical, female philosophers into research and teaching.
TeachPhilosophy101
A rigorous and comprehensive guide to teaching philosophy in Higher Education.

Philosophy: Free online resources

Introduction

Free online resources