Oxford LibGuides: Anthropology: Books

Finding key books in your research area

Anthropology - Oxford Bibliographies
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Reviews in Anthropology
The only anthropological journal devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books. Titles are largely drawn from the professional literature of anthropology, covering the entire range of work inclusive of all sub-disciplines, including biological, cultural, archaeological, and linguistic anthropology; a smaller number of books is selected from related disciplines.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline.
A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology
This new dictionary provides concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts relating to cultural anthropology, as well as important findings and intellectual figures in the field. Entries include adaptation, kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Inter-library Loans Service Online Form
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.

Anthropology: Books

Introduction

Finding key books in your research area

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Recommend a book

Inter-library loans