Oxford LibGuides: Research Guide for Mathematics: Books

Physical books

Use the tabs above to explore the key texts and libraries for students of Mathematics. Access to collections and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

Help with books

For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:

SOLO: Search Oxford Libraries Online guide
A guide for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.
Bodleian Libraries Special Collections
Information about special collections at the Bodleian Libraries and how to access them.
Bodleian Libraries theses and dissertations
Links to information on accessing the Bodleian Libraries collections of Oxford, UK, US and other international theses.

Below you will find key texts for Mathematics. The links will take you through to SOLO where you can find out how to access the books.

Partial Differential Equations by Walter A. Strauss
ISBN: 9780470054567
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
Our understanding of the fundamental processes of the natural world is based to a large extent on partial differential equations (PDEs). The second edition of Partial Differential Equations provides an introduction to the basic properties of PDEs and the ideas and techniques that have proven useful in analyzing them. It provides the student a broad perspective on the subject, illustrates the incredibly rich variety of phenomena encompassed by it, and imparts a working knowledge of the most important techniques of analysis of the solutions of the equations. In this book mathematical jargon is minimized. Our focus is on the three most classical PDEs: the wave, heat and Laplace equations. Advanced concepts are introduced frequently but with the least possible technicalities. The book is flexibly designed for juniors, seniors or beginning graduate students in science, engineering or mathematics.
Elementary Geometry by John Roe
ISBN: 0198534566
Publication Date: 1993-05-06
This text is a careful introduction to geometry. While developing geometry for its own sake, the book also emphasizes the links between geometry and other branches of pure and applied mathematics.
Mathematical Techniques by Dominic Jordan; Peter Smith
ISBN: 9780199282012
Publication Date: 2008-05-29
Mathematical concepts and theories underpin much of the physical sciences and engineering. Yet maths in a subject that many students find challenging, and even intimidating - despite it being so central to their field of study.Mathematical Techniques provides a complete course in mathematics, covering all the essential topics with which a physical sciences or engineering student should be familiar.By breaking the subject into small, modular chapters, the book introduces and builds on concepts in a progressive, carefully-layered way - always with an emphasis on how to use the power of maths to best effect, rather than on theoretical proofs of the maths presented.With a huge array of end of chapter problems, and new self-check questions, the fourth edition of Mathematical Techniques provides extensive opportunities for students to build their confidence in the best way possible: by using the maths for themselves.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre features the following materials for all users of the book:DT Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to downloadDT A downloadable solutions manual, featuring worked solutions to all end of chapter problemsDT Mathematica-based programs, relating to the Projects featured at the end of the book
Linear Algebra by Richard Kaye; Robert Wilson
ISBN: 0198502370
Publication Date: 1998-04-09
This book covers the basic theory of matrices and vector spaces. The book's three main parts cover (I) matrices, vector spaces, bases, and dimension; (II) inner products, bilinear and sesquilinear forms over vector spaces; (III) linear transformations, eigenvalues and eigenvectors,diagonalization, and Jordan normal form. An introduction to fields and polynomials over fields is also provided, and examples and applications are provided throughout. The approach throughout is rigorous, but without being unnecessarily abstract. In particular, this book would be suitable readingfor a student with no prior exposure to abstract algebra. Although intended as a 'second course', the book is completely self-contained and all the material usually given in a 'first course' in presented fully in Part I, so the book provides a useful guide to the entire theory of vector spaces asusually studied in an undergraduate degree. Abstract methods are illustrated with concrete examples throughout, and more detailed examples highlight applications of linear algebra to analysis, geometry, differential equations, relativity and quantum mechanics. As such, the book provides a valuableintroduction to a wide variety of mathematical methods.

Radcliffe Science Library
The Radcliffe Science Library is Oxford University's main library for science and pre-clinical medicine. It contains materials for taught and research courses, with multiple copies of frequently used titles available. Less frequently used books are stored offsite and need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

Mathematical Institute Library
The Whitehead Library contains material covering the spectrum of mathematical topics at postgraduate and research level.

A number of other libraries may be of relevance to those studying Mathematics.

Museum of the History of Science Library
Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library
The Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library (PTFL) is Oxford University's main lending library for philosophy.
Statistics Library
The Statistics library can be found in the Department of Statistics at 24-29 St Giles’, on the lower ground floor. The collection covers statistics, probability, operational research, mathematical genetics and bioinformatics.

Electronic books (ebooks)

Ebooks are digital versions of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. See the tabs above for details of different ebook resources relevant to those studying Mathematics.

Features

Many ebooks have enhanced functionality, such as connectivity with reference management software, the ability to annotate and accessibility features.

Access

Members of Oxford University can use ebooks that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ebooks are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ebook collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ebook collections too. Look at the 'ebook collections' tab above.

Note, some ebooks have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.

Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.

Electronic Legal Deposit guide

Help with ebooks

The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks.

Ebooks guide
A guide intended for students and staff using, or likely to use, ebooks in the course of their studies and research.
Online and Remote Access
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
University of Oxford E-resources Blog
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of ejournals and databases.

Below you will find key texts available as ebooks for Mathematics.

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.

Foundations of Modern Probability by Olav Kallenberg
ISBN: 9783030618704
Publication Date: 2021-02-08
The first edition of this single volume on the theory of probability has become a highly-praised standard reference for many areas of probability theory. Chapters from the first edition have been revised and corrected, and this edition contains four new chapters. New material covered includes multivariate and ratio ergodic theorems, shift coupling, Palm distributions, Harris recurrence, invariant measures, and strong and weak ergodicity.
Finite Difference Methods for Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations by Randall J. LeVeque
ISBN: 9780898716290
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
This book introduces finite difference methods for both ordinary differential equations (ODEs) and partial differential equations (PDEs) and discusses the similarities and differences between algorithm design and stability analysis for different types of equations. A unified view of stability theory for ODEs and PDEs is presented, and the interplay between ODE and PDE analysis is stressed. The text emphasizes standard classical methods, but several newer approaches also are introduced and are described in the context of simple motivating examples. Exercises and student projects are available on the book's webpage, along with Matlab mfiles for implementing methods. Readers will gain an understanding of the essential ideas that underlie the development, analysis, and practical use of finite difference methods as well as the key concepts of stability theory, their relation to one another, and their practical implications. The author provides a foundation from which students can approach more advanced topics.
Diffusions, Markov Processes and Martingales: Volume 1 by L. C. G. Rogers; David Williams
ISBN: 9780521775946
Publication Date: 2000-04-13
Now available in paperback, this celebrated book remains a key systematic guide to a large part of the modern theory of Probability. The authors not only present the subject of Brownian motion as a dry part of mathematical analysis, but convey its real meaning and fascination. The opening, heuristic chapter does just this, and it is followed by a comprehensive and self-contained account of the foundations of theory of stochastic processes. Chapter 3 is a lively presentation of the theory of Markov processes. Together with its companion volume, this book equips graduate students for research into a subject of great intrinsic interest and wide applications.
Diffusions, Markov Processes and Martingales: Volume 2 by L. C. G. Rogers; David Williams
ISBN: 9780521775939
Publication Date: 2000-09-07
The second volume concentrates on stochastic integrals, stochastic differential equations, excursion theory and the general theory of processes. These subjects are made accessible in the many concrete examples that illustrate techniques of calculation, and in the treatment of all topics from the ground up, starting from simple cases. Many of the examples and proofs are new; some important calculational techniques appear for the first time in this book.
An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory by Michael E. Peskin; Daniel V. Schroeder
ISBN: 0201503972
Publication Date: 1995-10-02
An Introduction to Quantum Field Theory is a textbook intended for the graduate physics course covering relativistic quantum mechanics, quantum electrodynamics, and Feynman diagrams. The authors make these subjects accessible through carefully worked examples illustrating the technical aspects of the subject, and intuitive explanations of what is going on behind the mathematics. After presenting the basics of quantum electrodynamics, the authors discuss the theory of renormalization and its relation to statistical mechanics, andintroduce the renormalization group. This discussion sets the stage for a discussion of the physical principles that underlie the fundamental interactions of elementary particle physics and their description by gauge field theories.
Deep Learning by Ian Goodfellow; Yoshua Bengio; Aaron Courville
ISBN: 9780262035613
Publication Date: 2016-11-18
An introduction to a broad range of topics in deep learning, covering mathematical and conceptual background, deep learning techniques used in industry, and research perspectives."Written by three experts in the field, Deep Learning is the only comprehensive book on the subject." -Elon Musk, cochair of OpenAI; cofounder and CEO of Tesla and SpaceX Deep learning is a form of machine learning that enables computers to learn from experience and understand the world in terms of a hierarchy of concepts. Because the computer gathers knowledge from experience, there is no need for a human computer operator to formally specify all the knowledge that the computer needs. The hierarchy of concepts allows the computer to learn complicated concepts by building them out of simpler ones; a graph of these hierarchies would be many layers deep. This book introduces a broad range of topics in deep learning. The text offers mathematical and conceptual background, covering relevant concepts in linear algebra, probability theory and information theory, numerical computation, and machine learning. It describes deep learning techniques used by practitioners in industry, including deep feedforward networks, regularization, optimization algorithms, convolutional networks, sequence modeling, and practical methodology; and it surveys such applications as natural language processing, speech recognition, computer vision, online recommendation systems, bioinformatics, and videogames. Finally, the book offers research perspectives, covering such theoretical topics as linear factor models, autoencoders, representation learning, structured probabilistic models, Monte Carlo methods, the partition function, approximate inference, and deep generative models. Deep Learning can be used by undergraduate or graduate students planning careers in either industry or research, and by software engineers who want to begin using deep learning in their products or platforms. A website offers supplementary material for both readers and instructors.

The following is a list of ebook collections applicable to those studying Mathematics at Oxford. Not all ebook collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ebook collection websites to expand your search. You can browse and search across all ebooks on the provider's website and encounter titles of interest you may not have otherwise found.

Access

The ebook collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions to the content. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the collections if you are not on the University network.

AMS Graduate Studies in Mathematics ebooks
Series of graduate-level textbooks in mathematics published by the American Mathematical Society.

Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Alternative names: Lecture Notes in Computing Science ; LNCS
Lecture Notes in Mathematics (1997- )
Alternative name: LNM

Book series covering Mathematics and Statistics, Mathematics, Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes, Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory, Mathematical Biology in General, Partial Differential Equations, Functional Analysis, Abstract Harmonic Analysis and Group Theory and Generalizations.

IMS Lecture Notes
Monographic series covering statistics.

O'Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
Alternative name: O'Reilly Online Learning

O'Reilly's on-demand digital library (formerly Safari Books Online) provides e-books associated with Computer Science, including titles published by O'Reilly, Wiley, Princeton University Press, and others.

Available only to University of Oxford staff and students.
SIAM
Alternative name: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

This platform provides full-text access to a collection of more than 450 ebooks, journals, and conference proceedings published by SIAM, the leading source of knowledge for the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities.
Oxford Handbooks
Alternative name: Oxford Handbooks Online ; OHO

Each Oxford handbook brings together the world's leading scholars in the field to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Reference
Alternative names: ORO ; Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.
It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Alternative name: OSO

Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 21,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. Books are added continuously as part of our subscription.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Alternative names: Net Library ; NetLibrary ; EBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Ebsco's ebook collection is a collection of e-books purchased by Oxford librarians. Currently there are over 2,000 purchased books ('Our Collection') as well as over 3000 free e-books.
Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book licence.
New books are being purchased on a regular basis.
Deatils on accessing the ebooks on this platform are at: http://ox.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=19854712.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Alternative names: Ebook Central ; Ebook Library (EBL) ; ebrary
Oxford Academic: Books (including University Press Scholarship)
Alternative name: University Press Scholarship Online ; UPSO

Oxford Academic includes over 40,000 academic ebooks from Oxford University Press and other university presses, including:
- American University in Cairo Press
- British Academy
- University of California Press
- University of Chicago Press
- Columbia University Press
- Cornell University Press
- Edinburgh University Press
- University Press of Florida
- Fordham University Press
- University of Hawai‘i Press
- Hong Kong University Press
- University of Illinois Press
- University Press of Kentucky
- Liverpool University Press
- Manchester University Press
- University of Minnesota Press
- University Press of Mississippi
- MIT Press
- University of North Carolina Press
- NYU Press
- Policy Press
- Princeton University Press
- Stanford University Press
- Yale University Press
Includes medical ebooks previously available through the Oxford Medicine Online platform. To access medicine content, select "Subject" -> "Medicine and Health".
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
What Everyone Needs to Know
Alternative name: WENTK

What Everyone Needs to Know is a series of over 100 books from Oxford University Press that concisely introduce current events, issues, and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion. The books are written by experts in their fields in a straight-forward question-and-answer format.

A number of eresources, including ebook collections, are freely available online and listed below.

Access

Some of these resources are listed on SOLO but not all, so it is important to visit the websites to expand your search. You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. These are different to the ebooks purchased by the Bodleian Libraries for which you need your Single Sign On for access.

Digital Book Index
Provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
Google Books
Full text of many out of copyright books, and selected previews of books which are still in copyright.
Google Scholar
Used to search for scholarly literature including articles, theses, abstracts and books from a variety of publishers.
IntechOpen books - Mathematics
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Many Books
A library of close to 50,000 free ebooks, with a selection of classic poltical and philosophical texts.
O'Reilly Open Books Project
This is a collection of computer science e-books and manuals
Open Book Publishers
Open Book Publishers is one of the biggest independent open access academic publishers of monographs in the UK.
Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Open Education Network, the Open Textbook Library offers over 800 etextbooks that are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

You will find study skills resources compiled by Bodleian Libraries staff available on Oxford Reading List Online (ORLO).

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.

Study skills resources
This list gives a sample of available books, documents and videos on study skills that you may find helpful.

A selection of dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopedias useful to those studying Mathematics.

Access

You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the collections if you are not on the University network.

Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics. It enables readers to access basic information on topics peripheral to their own areas, to provide a repository of the core information in the area that can be used to refresh the researcher's own memory banks, and aid teachers in directing students to entries relevant to their course-work. The Encyclopedia does contain information that has been distilled, organised and presented as a complete reference tool to the user and a landmark to the body of knowledge that has accumulated in this domain. It also is a stimulus for new researchers working in mathematical physics or in areas using the methods originating from work in mathematical physics by providing them with focused high quality background information.
Handbook of Mathematical Functions
This 1972 book is a compendium of mathematical formulas, tables, and graphs. It contains a very complete table of analytical integrals, differential equations, and numerical series; and includes tables of trigonometric and hyperbolic functions, tables for numerical integration, rules for differentiation and integration, and techniques for point interpolation and function approximation. Additionally, the book devotes an entire section to mathematical and physical constants as fractions and powers of Pi, e, and prime numbers; and discusses statistics by presenting combinatorial analysis and probability functions. The coverage is extensive. In its more than 1000 pages, almost all mathematical areas are treated.
Handbook of Statistics
The field of statistics not only affects all areas of scientific activity, but also many other matters, e.g. public policy. It is branching rapidly into so many different subjects that a series of handbooks is the only way of comprehensively presenting the various aspects of statistical methodology, applications, and recent developments.
The Handbook of Statistics, a series of self-contained reference books. Each volume is devoted to a particular topic in statistics. Every chapter is written by prominent workers in the area to which the volume is devoted. The series is addressed to the entire community of statisticians and scientists in various disciplines who use statistical methodology in their work. At the same time, special emphasis is placed on applications-oriented techniques, with the applied statistician in mind as the primary audience.
Lecture Notes in Mathematics (1997- )
Alternative name: LNM

Book series covering Mathematics and Statistics, Mathematics, Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes, Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory, Mathematical Biology in General, Partial Differential Equations, Functional Analysis, Abstract Harmonic Analysis and Group Theory and Generalizations.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons:

Why isn't there an ebook?

Research Guide for Mathematics: Books

Introduction

Physical books

Help with books

Electronic books (ebooks)

Features

Access

Help with ebooks

Access

Access

Access

Access

Access

Recommend a book

Inter-library requests

Why are some books not available electronically?