Research Guide for Mathematics: Home

Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the American Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.

The Society has over 32,000 individual members and 550 institutional members in the United States and around the world. Programs and services for AMS members and the mathematical community include professional programs such as meetings and conferences, surveys, employment services; publications including Mathematical Reviews (a database of over 2 million items covering over 60 years of mathematics literature), journals, and over 3,000 books in print; support for Young Scholars Programs and the Mathematical Moments program of the Public Awareness Office; resources such as MR Lookup for researchers and authors; and a Washington office that connects the mathematical community with the broader scientific community and with decision makers who determine science funding.

The AMS headquarters is located in Providence, Rhode Island, and the Society has offices also in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and Washington D.C.

The Society was founded in 1865 for the promotion and extension of mathematical knowledge and was granted a Royal Charter in 1965. The Society is registered as a charity with the United Kingdom Charity Commissioners. It is the major British learned society for Mathematics, with a nationwide membership and several hundred overseas members.

MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1864. It provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.

The Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered. The Mathematical Reviews Database is published in a variety of formats, including MathSciNet, the monthly Mathematical Reviews, and Current Mathematical Publications.

Mathematical Reviews is a paper publication containing the bibliographic information and review information of those items in the Mathematical Reviews Database for which there are reviews.

Current Mathematical Publications is published 17 times per year and contains the bibliographic information and classifications (using the Mathematics Subject Classification) of the classified items in the Mathematical Reviews Database.

MathSciNet, the Mathematical Reviews Database, Mathematical Reviews, and Current Mathematical Publications are all produced by the American Mathematical Society.

PhysMath Central is an independent publishing platform operated by BioMed Central committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed physics and mathematics research.

SciFinder on the Web is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the world’s literature in Chemistry and related scientific disciplines including biochemistry, biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, materials science, pharmacology, agriculture, etc. The CAS information service indexes and abstracts information from more than 10000 major scientific journals, 57 patent authorities around the world, conference proceedings, technical reports, etc and produces the following databases:

CAplus (Scientific Literature and Patents)

CAS REGISTRY (Chemical Substances)

CASREACT (Reactions)

CHEMCATS (Chemical Catalogs)

CHEMLIST (Regulated Chemicals)

MARPAT (Markush Structures)

Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.