Oxford LibGuides: Cultural heritage law: Museums & Galleries

Museums & galleries & their roles in 21st century

Museums -- Law and legislation

Cultural property -- Repatriation

Cultural property -- Protection (International law)

Cultural property -- Protection -- Moral and ethical aspects

Antiquities -- Collection and preservation -- Moral and ethical aspects

Art museums -- Law and legislation
Art objects -- Collectors and collecting
Law and art
Artists -- Legal status, laws, etc

Archaeology -- Moral and ethical aspects
Archaeology -- Political Aspects
Archaeology -- Philosophy
Archaeologists -- Professional ethics

The art collecting legal handbook by Boesch, Bruno (Bruno W.) ; Sterpi, Massimo
Call Number: KL30.V5.BOE 2016
ISBN: 9780414057265
Publication Date: 2nd edn
Cultural Objects and Reparative Justice: A Legal and Historical Analysis by Patty Gerstenblith
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9780192872104
Publication Date: 2024
Restitution by Alexander Herman
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781848225367
Publication Date: 2022
Print copy is at General 510 H551.6a
Archaeology and Capitalism : from ethics to politics by Yannis Hamilakis (Editor); Philip Duke (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 1315434202
Publication Date: 2016
Print copy in Bodleian AAWL at Lower Ground Floor - 500.1 H. 11e
Education, Values and Ethics in International Heritage by Jeanette Atkinson
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 1317145755
Publication Date: 2016
International Law, Museums and the Return of Cultural Objects by Ana Filipa Vrdoljak
Call Number: Internat 610 V979a
ISBN: 0521732409
Publication Date: 2008

UNESCO

UNESCO Database of National Cultural Heritage Laws
Open Access. Includes
National legislation for the protection of cultural heritage in general;
Certificates for export and / or import cultural property (on request);
Translations, official or otherwise, of national laws and certificates;
Details of the competent national authorities in the field of cultural heritage;
The addresses of the official national websites dedicated to the protection of cultural heritage.
UNESCO Memory of the World
Open Access. "The Memory of the World Programme aims to:
Facilitate preservation of the world's documentary heritage, particularly in areas affected by conflict and/or natural disaster
Enable universal access to documentary heritage worldwide
Enhance public awareness about the significant of documentary heritage among the wider public"

In the UK

Museums and galleries (UK)
Discover publications from Department for Culture, Media & Sport
Arts Council UK
Official website of body ... "set up in 1946, by Royal Charter, to champion and develop art and culture across the country ... governed by an executive board and national and area councils."
The Collections Trust
Official website of "the professional association for collections management. Established in 1977, it is a UK-based charity that works worldwide with museums, libraries, galleries and archives to improve the management and use of their collections. It does this by providing know-how, developing and promoting excellence, challenging existing practices, pioneering new ideas and bringing experts together."

Newspapers & newswires

Nexis UK
- This link opens in a new window
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://advance.lexis.com?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names: LexisNexis Business & News ; Lexis Nexis Business & News

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.
Factiva
If the Factiva link does not work, please try a second time. We are working to resolve this error.

Please see Factiva user guide.
Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.