Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
Some Subject search terms to use in SOLO
Cultural property
Cultural property -- Protection (International law)
World Heritage areas
Intangible property
Indigenous peoples -- Civil rights
Art --- Protection
Excavations ( Archaeology ) Protection
Foreign trade regulation
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Internat (short for public international law). The Internat book collection is further arranged by topic as described at the foot of this box.
A Third Way : decolonizing the laws of indigenous cultural protection by Also on Level 3 is an area of the open shelf collection with books with shelf marks beginning Private Int. (This is short for private international law or conflict of laws as it is sometimes called.) In this section books are simply arranged by the last name of the author or editor, not by topic.
Private International Law, Art and Cultural Heritage by The current collection of public international law is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level. There are both stairs and a public lift to access Level 3. This floor also study spaces and a PCAS machine, but readers are welcome to take the books down to another floor within the library if they would prefer. Readers are not asked to return items to the shelves when finished with, but we would be grateful if they could be put on one of the book trolleys dotted around the library.
The public international law books are arranged according to the following scheme
Internat 500 General and theory
Internat 510 History
Internat 520 Title to territory
Internat 530 The state (as a legal entity)
Internat 535 Dependent states and special regimes
Internat 540 State succession
Internat 545 Recognition
Internat 550 Servitudes
Internat 555 State responsibility
Internat 560 Jurisdiction of states
Internat 565 Nationality
Internat 570 Human rights
Internat 575 European Court of Human Rights: literature
Internat 580 International crimes
Internat 590 Economic law
Internat 600 Atomic energy
Internat 610 Social legislation and organisation
Internat 620 Transport and communications (except sea, air and space)
Internat 630 Law of the sea and waterways
Internat 640 Air law
Internat 650 Space law
Internat 660 International relations
Internat 670 Treaties (theory etc.)
International organisations
Internat 680 History and general
Internat 681 General and regional political organisations
Internat 685 League of Nations: general
Internat 687 United Nations: general
International disputes and arbitration
Internat 700 Peace and disarmament
Internat 710 General and theory
Internat 720 International courts and tribunals: general
Internat 725 Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature
Internat 730 Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature
Internat 740 Individual arbitration tribunals: literature
Internat 750 War and armed conflict
Internat 760 Termination of war (including specific peace treaties)
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. In the case of cultural heritage law also books which look at both domestic/national responses and international ones.
If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth (the voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific) the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Cultural Heritage Law by 
Cultural Law by 
Cultural Expertise, Law, and Rights A Comprehensive Guide by On Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Library, you will find books on the laws of all the jurisdictions of Great Britain and Northern Island, Australia, Canada, Channel Islands, Ireland, New Zealand, United States of America.
These books have shelf marks beginning K. The books dealing with English law are shelved at the start of each new K shelf mark, followed by the other jurisdictions alphabetically. The foreign jurisdictions are indicated in the shelf marks to their books by the following codes
A8 or AUS Australia
C1 or CAN Canada
G8 or GUE Guernsey
I5 or IRL Ireland
I7 or IOM Isle of Man
J2 or JER Jersey
N4 or NZL New Zealand
N8 or NIR Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT Scotland
U4 or USA United States
W1 or WLS Wales
Museum Law by Books on the law of European jurisdictions and the European Union are shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the law library
I beni culturali e ambientali by Books from the remaining national jurisdictions are on Level 1, one floor below the entrance level to the law library
Conservation of Cultural and Natural Heritage in Kenya by For guidance on primary sources and commentary in general, please see if we have a special guide for your jurisdiction(s) of interest
Additional subject searches worth trying
Museums -- Acquisitions -- Moral and ethical aspects
Museums -- Acquisitions -- Europe, Western -- History
Museums -- Acquisitions -- Case studies
Cultural Objects and Reparative Justice: A Legal and Historical Analysis by 
The brutish museums : the Benin Bronzes, colonial violence and cultural restitution by 
Africa's Struggle for Its Art by Open Access material available to all with access to the internet
Confronting Colonial Objects : Histories, Legalities, and Access to Culture by If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.