Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool. For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
American Law : an introduction by 
The Oxford Companion to American Law by Holders of an Oxford SSO can log in to Westlaw US to find national/federal encyclopedia such as
American Jurisprudence 2d
Black's Law Dictionary
Corpus Juris Secundum
Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure
Restatements & Principles of the Law
as well as a number of state equivalents.
Open access resources available to anyone with access to the internet
All the Law Library's current USA law books are on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.
They are in the collection with shelf marks beginning K. (We use the Moys Legal Classification System, it is no the same as Library of Congress.)
This K collection arranges the books first by subject/topic, then by jurisdiction.
The following is an overview of the principal sections within the K (Moys) sequence - with examples of works about US law.
KA Philosophical studies.
eg KA.50.USA.FEL 2000 American Legal Thought from Premodernism to Postmodernism : an Intellectual Voyage
KB Biography, Memoirs, "popular" accounts of trials (as opposed to law reports)
eg KB.15.USA.CAR has biographical accounts of the career of Benjamin Cardozo
eg KB.66.USA.BOE 2013 Congress, the Supreme Court, and Religious Liberty : the Case of City of Boerne v. Flores
KC International law
eg KC.86.BRA 2015 International Law in the U.S. Legal System
KL Legal System, Administration of Justice
KL.22 is for books on the US legal system
eg KL.22.FRI 2017 American Law : an Introduction
KL.23 plus three letter state code for books on the legal systems of individual states
KL.412 is for US legal history
KL.413 plus three letter state code for the legal history of individual states
In most of the other KL shelf marks, U4 in the third line identifies a US-focused work.
eg KL.221.U4.GRO 2015 The U.S. Supreme Court and the Modern Common Law Approach to Judicial Decision Making
U4 in the third line of the shelf mark indicates a work about US public law.
eg KM.300.U4.HAM 2014 Is Administrative Law Unlawful?
U4 in the third line of the shelf mark indicates a work about US private law
eg KN.266.U4.PAT 2017 Antitrust Law in the New Economy : Google, Yelp, LIBOR, and the Control of Information
Note Your SOLO searches may reveal US law books which have shelf marks starting USA 450 to USA 510 and ending (sec coll). These are in the secondary collection of superseded monographs on the Ground Floor. They remain freely accessible (via stairs or lift) to anyone who wishes to consult them. Please ask a member of staff for help if having difficulty finding them.
Foundations of American Contract Law by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
The books in this collection are simply arranged alphabetically, by the last name of author or editor.
The Oxford Handbook of the New Private Law by 
Financial Collateral : law and practice by 
Contracts for the Sale of Goods : a comparison of U.S. and international law by Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. These titles are available to all categories of readers, but are shelved in a discrete run on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.
Law's Empire by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. (Works by Wendell Holmes, Cardozo, Llewellyn, Posner, Dworkin - to name a few - as well as works by others about these philosophers)
As this jurisprudence collection is being converted to Moys, an increasing number of legal philosophy works will be found in KA and other sections of the K run, which is in another part of Level 2.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Exploring Law's Empire by 
The Lost World of Classical Legal Thought: law and ideology in America, 1886-1937 by 
Karl Llewellyn and the Realist Movement by If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
