United States: legal resources: African Americans and the law

Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

Oxford users have access to multiple collections through HeinOnline, including:

• Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
• U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
• Federal Register Library: Comprehensive coverage of the official journal of the U.S. federal government dating from inception (1936).
• Legal Classics: Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833).
• Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
• Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law: Early English manuscripts, yearbooks and more illustrating English and American legal history. Also includes influential digests, abridgments, and modern encyclopedias that formed the foundation of English law.

All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.

To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Alternative name: OREs

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Please note that we do not have access to all subject modules on this website. Our modules include: African History, American History, Asian History, Business & Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, Education, Environmental Science, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Natural Hazard Science, Neuroscience, Politics, Physiology, Religion.

Alternative name: AASC

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes:

- Africana

- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895

- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

- Black Women in America, Second Edition

- African American National Biography

- Dictionary of African Biography

- The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought