For a modern edition of Regiam Majestatem see Stair Society volume 11.
Case law & law reporting
The oldest surviving records/collections of Scottish court decisions are referred to as Practicks. As with English yearbooks or books of terms they do not match the modern reader's expectation of law reports. Collections subsequently printed include
From the seventeenth century many more entrepreneurs printed collections of case reports such as the Durie collection of Court of Sessions decisions 1621-1641. Some of these collections were published under the title Dictionary of Decisions.
Faculty Collection/Faculty Decisions (Old Series) (1752-1808)
Faculty Collection/Faculty Decisions (New Series) (1808-1825)
Faculty Collection/Faculty Decisions (Octavo Series) (1825-1841)
The Session Cases (SC) series have reported cases since 1821. Between 1821 and 1906 they were published as 5 series, the names of the respective editors being reflected in the citations.
First Series 1821-1838 Shaw - cited as S
Second Series 1838-1862 Dunlop - cited as D
Third Series 1862-1873 MacPherson - cited as M
Fourth Series 1873-1898 Rettie - cited as R
Fifth Series 1898-1906 Fraser - cited as F
Note: For a more detailed account, see chapters 3 and 4 of the work below
In the absence of legislation or judicial precedent, the writings of some early writers have gained in authority and have been used to settle legal points. The dates are those of the first editions. SOLO searches may reveal later editions and, in the case of Craig, a modern edition with translation.
History of Private Law in Scotland by 
New Perspectives in Scottish Legal History by 
Contract Before the Enlightenment: The Ideas of James Dalrymple, Viscount Stair, 1619-1695 by 
Continuity, Change and Pragmatism in the Law Essays in Memory of Professor Angelo Forte by