Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
The LawBod uses Library of Congress subject headings, sometimes you have to use US spelling or terminology eg to find general works on English employment law you have to use Labor laws and legislation -- + jurisdiction (Great Britain or England) to find works on Trade Unions use Labor Unions - law and legislation.
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
Examples of relevant e-books available to holders of an Oxford SSO.
Perspectives on labour law by 
Great Debates in Employment Law by 
When you are studying English employment law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
Deakin and Morris' Labour Law by The principal shelfmarks in the English labour law collection are:
| KN190 | Industrial law and relations |
| KN191 | Right to work |
| KN191.2 | Discrimination |
| KN191.3 | Equal opportunities |
| KN192 | Employment |
| KN192.1 | Contracts of employment |
| KN192.2 | Employment protection |
| KN193 | Conditions of employment |
| KN194 | Remuneration |
| KN195 | Trade unions, associations etc |
| KN196 | Trade negotiations & disputes |
| KN197 | Unemployment |
| KN198 | Health & Safety at work |
Some of the ebooks on topic available to holders of an Oxford SSO
The Law Library divides its current collections for jurisdictions across 3 levels. Each of these floors is connected by both stairs and a lift. There is also reader spaces on each floor, but we are happy for you to take books from one floor to another.
Level 2
This is the entrance level to the library. It has the books relating to the law of our home jurisdiction (UK/England and Wales), other parts of the British Isles and the common law jurisdictions of Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and USA. The shelf arrangement is explained in more detail below.
Level 3
This is one floor above the entrance level to the library. Here you willl find the collection for the European jurisdictions.
Level 1
This is one floor below the entrance level to the library. Here the remaining jurisdictions are arranged, alphabetically by the English name of the nation. This is where to find, for example, China, India, South Africa etc.
Level 2: Arrangement of books from Australia, Canada, Channel Islands, Ireland, Isle of Man, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Scotland, USA, Wales.
| KN190 | Industrial law and relations |
| KN191 | Right to work |
| KN191.2 | Discrimination |
| KN191.3 | Equal opportunities |
| KN192 | Employment |
| KN192.1 | Contracts of employment |
| KN192.2 | Employment protection |
| KN193 | Conditions of employment |
| KN194 | Remuneration |
| KN195 | Trade unions, associations etc |
| KN196 | Trade negotiations & disputes |
| KN197 | Unemployment |
| KN198 | Health & Safety at work |
These cutter numbers identify foreign jurisdictions in this collection
A8 or AUS Australia
C1 or CAN Canada
G8 or GUE Guernsey
I5 or IRL Ireland
I7 or IOM Isle of Man
J2 or JER Jersey
N4 or NZL New Zealand
N8 or NIR Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT Scotland
U4 or USA United States
W1 or WLS Wales
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, are the open shelf collections with books with shelf marks beginning General and KB.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but in a separate run from the two mentioned above.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Employment Law: a Very Short Introduction by 
Humans As a Service by 
Voices at Work : continuity and change in the common law world by 
Discrimination at Work: comparing European, French, and American law by The current collection of books on European Union law is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the level at which you enter the library. The floor is accessible via either stairs or the lift.
The books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. There is is no subject classification within the collection, the books being arranged alphabetically by the first names author/editor/
Suggested subject searches to use in SOLO
Labor laws and legislation -- European Union countries
Employee rights -- European Union countries
Research Handbook on EU Labour Law by 
Migrants, Refugees and Asylum Seekers’ Integration in European Labour Markets A Comparative Approach on Legal Barriers and Enablers by Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
European law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW.
Example of an ebook on topic available to holders of an Oxford SSO
Idea of Labour Law by The principal collection of legal philosophy/jurisprudence books are also shelved on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library. An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection & have shelf marks beginning KA. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA on the open shelves. KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.
International Labour Law by 
Putting Human Rights to Work Labour Law, The ECHR, and The Employment Relation by 
The Right to Strike in International Law by The current collection of public and private international law books are shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library. Access is via both stairs and a public lift. Books in these collections have shelf marks beginning Internat or Private Int.
Subject searches to try in SOLO
Labor laws and legislation, International
Employee rights
Bodleian Official Papers has been a depository library for ILO publications and official records since 1938. If your search on SOLO returns a shelf mark with the prefix O.ILO. , please go to the Ground Floor of the Bodleian Law Library.
Law Reserve Collection.
This is a collection of high demand books, the most heavily used books on Law Faculty reading lists when not available online. Items display the status ‘Res Books’ on SOLO and have 'Reserve Collection’ shelfmarks.
Please ask for Reserve Collection books at the Law Enquiry Desk on Level 2, the entrance level. Remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.
Note: The Reserve Collection books are not restricted to those readers on the particular courses.
The Law Library divides its current collections of books across 3 floors. Each of these floors is connected by both stairs and a lift. There are also reader spaces on each floor, but we are happy for you to take books from one floor to another. But please remember ours is a reference only collection - there is no borrowing/lending.
Level 2
This is the entrance level to the library. It has the books relating to the law of our home jurisdiction (UK/England and Wales), other parts of the British Isles and some of the common law jurisdictions. The shelf arrangement is explained in more detail below.
Also on Level 2 are the comparative law books (shelf mark General or Cw Gen), legal philosophy (Jurisp), Roman law, Roman-Dutch law, and legal history.
Level 3
This is one floor above the entrance level to the library. Here you willl find the collections for individual European jurisdictions (eg France, Switzerland etc) and the European Union (Euro Comm), public interntional law (with shelf marks beginning Internat) and private interntaional law/conflict of laws (with shelf marks beginning Private int). This floor is also where you will find the Criminology collection (Crim) and books on the major religious legal systems. Buddhism, Hindu, Jewish and Islamic.
Level 1
This is one floor below the entrance level to the library. Here the remaining jurisdictions are arranged, alphabetically by the English name of the nation. This is where to find, for example, China, India, South Africa etc.
Level 2: Subject arrangement further explained
The Moys (K shelf mark) system is a subject classification. In the Law Bod, books on the law of England & Wales/UK are shelved first - with shelf marks made up of a subject indicator, followed by author/editor and publication date elements. For example Atiyah's Essays on Contract Law is KN10 ATI 1990 where KN10 indicates contract law, ATI for the author and 1990 the date when this version (a reprint with added chapter) was published.
The titles on the law in certain (foreign) jurisdictions are shelved next (country by country). In the majority of cases, their shelf marks have a distinguishing feature: the third line is either a familiar abbreviation of the country name (eg AUS), or a combination of Capital Letter Number (eg A8) - as shown in table below. For example Eldridge and others (editors) Australian Contract Law in the 21st Century has shelf mark KN10.A8.ELD 2021.
A8 or AUS Australia
C1 or CAN Canada
G8 or GUE Guernsey
I5 or IRL Ireland
I7 or IOM Isle of Man
J2 or JER Jersey
N4 or NZL New Zealand
N8 or NIR Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT Scotland
U4 or USA United States
W1 or WLS Wales
Superseded editions
The Law Bod has a secondary collection of superseded editions. These books are all on SOLO but their shelf marks have a suffix (sec coll). You are very welcome to consult these older editions should you wish - most are on open shelf on the ground floor.
