Oxford LibGuides: Labour & employment law: Legislation

Legislation

Legislation - whether it be in the form of act of Parliament or statutory instrument - has, since the late (20th, become the dominant source of English labour law.

Holders of an Oxford SSO must always use a subscription database to be sure of finding the current (amended/consolidated) text of UK legislation.

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

Legislation.gov
Free resource. This site replaces the Statute Law Database and part of the Office of Public Sector Information. It has amended legislation BUT NOTE these are often not uptodate. OU students requiring the current, amended form of an act should go to either Lexis or Westlaw via links above.
Working, jobs and pensions
UK government's website bringing public services together.

Printed resources

Halsbury's Statutes and Statutory Instruments and Current Law Statutes Annotated are in the KZ section on Level 2.

These are the services which enable you to get as close as possible to the current state of active legislation, tracking subsequent amendments etc.

Cw UK 001-099 Level 1

Here you will find the texts of statutes & statutory instruments as originally promulgated, and various indexes and chronological tables.

This is not the Law Bod's entire collection of acts - please ask a member of staff for assistance if you cannot find the particular piece of legislation you require.

Foreign Jurisdictions

For help in finding the legislation of non UK jurisdictions please see if we have a separate guide which can give assistance

Law Bod guides to national jurisdictions